Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the best cornbread ever!!! My family loves this... Kudos to BETHANYWEATHERSBY for sharing your Grandmothers recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Flora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Mmmm...the best cornbread I ever made. Perfect density and an excellent excuse to eat lots of butter. I made a mexican version by adding finely chpped hot peppers and cheddar cheese on top. I would have added a photo but it didn't last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Best cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I'm done searching for a cornbread recipe. I love this stuff. Found this recipe a couple of years ago and have been using it ever since. It is great with homemade honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I Used skim milk to make my own buttermilk with vinegar, used half barley flour, and cooked in an oiled hot skillet to form nice crust. It came out wonderful and moist, not crumbly. I will probably use less sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Yum! Made it as written (except I was a little short on sugar) and it was delicious. Great recipe for using up sour milk! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe. It came out nice and moist. We as a family enjoy our cornbread slightly sweet like the Jiffy cornbread. It tasted like that, but it had more moisture than the boxed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is the best cornbread I've ever made. I usually melt the butter in a cast iron skillet, add everything else to it, and bake it in the oven in the skillet. I have also baked these as muffins, which have also turned out excellent. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Best ever. I make this in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family really enjoyed this cornbread. I did reduce the sugar from 2/3 cup to 2 Tbsp. Also, I accidentally used a full tsp of baking soda this time, so it came out quite high and fluffy. This recipe is a keeper. Maybe now my hubs will buy me a cast iron skillet... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States