Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Best Gluten Free cornbread I've ever made!! I changed the "all-purpose flour" with 'Namaste Gluten Free Perfect flour blend' and made sure cornmeal was GF- otherwise followed directions exactly. We've tried many GF cornbread recipes, and by swapping the flour in this one, by far it's the best! We all loved it, including my non-GF teen who said I should make this every week!So moist & fluffy it was amazing- anyone who cooks GF knows getting anything 'fluffy' is difficult -all others I have made were very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My New Cornbread Recipe. Excellent,! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It sure is tasty. A local specialty grocer had a corn bread with dried cherries in it a few years back and I thought,"I can make that at home!" But it didn't turn out, because I was using a more normal "Southern" style recipe. This one is more like cake, so I thought I would try again. It is terrific with a cup of dried cherries. I should probably cut back on the sugar since the cherries are sweet, but I haven't done so yet. I also substitute Greek yogurt for the buttermilk, so the protein count goes way up. Thanks for the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
To "Kay" the "True Southerner". I was born and raised in Mississippi and my mother ALWAYS put sugar in her cornbread, as do I. And I don't see anywhere on this recipe that says it's a southern recipe in the first place. Who cares if it's baked in a skillet or not. Sheesh. If you don't want sugar in it, then don't put any in there. This is a very delicious recipe and I'm happy to have tried it, and am adding it to my book. From a "True Southerner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was a great recipe! The only thing I did differently was that I used 1/2 a cup of unsalted butter instead of salted and added a 1/4 of a tsp more of salt (total of 3/4 tsp). To grease the pan I used butter which made it nice and crunchy on the outside. I ended up baking it for 36 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
First recipe EVER I did not change a thing and it turned out so delicious! It's a softer cornbread unless you leave it in the oven longer, but I like soft, buttery, sweet cornbread with my spicy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I follow the recipe exactly, and everyone asks me for this recipe when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Cut a smidge back on sugar...Winning cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Pretty good, but I did not follow exactly. Only used 1/4 cup sugar, and ended up adding an extra TBS or two of buttermilk. I'm usually one of those that says "don't rate it if you didn't make it just as is" but in this case I knew for sure that was too much sugar for my taste. Baked at temp and time suggested in a cast iron skillet and, with the cut in sugar/slight add in buttermilk, it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I will never make box cornbread again. This was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States