Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Absolutely love this corn bread. I added a can of corn and cooked for 30 minutes and it turned out prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tereasa Anand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used 1/2c regular flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and regular milk with a bit of lemon juice. It came out pretty good. It was a little drier than expected but I think that may have been due to using the wheat flour (or I'm used to southern corn bread). Overall, I'd make it again and my husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
First of all, and in defense of Bethany, this is the way my Gran used to make it. Exactly. It was always wolfed-down by everyone who was privileged to eat it. My Pa would make it sans sugar. That's the way he liked it and no one else. Both were born and raised in the south as were generations before them. Bethany is right when it comes to variables such as what type of flour you use, length of time cooking and your oven. Any baker knows these variables and adjusts accordingly. For me, and I'm sure thousands of others, this recipe is delicious! You might even want to try it "one day old" and crumble it into a glass, add sweet milk to the top of the glass and enjoy. That's if any is ever left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made this recipe using half a cup of milk,and half a cup of plain yogurt. The result was the moistest,the fluffiest, corn bread I have ever made. It was so good, my husband,the most finicky eater I have ever met liked it. So far, he's had two helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Who knew making cornbread from scratch could be so easy. Great recipe and our highschooler who requested it for his class thanksgiving party even helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Grandma knows best...really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My mother described this bread as "deceptively light!" So delicious, and will definitely be my new go-to cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! I've made this multiple times and my parents have loved it! I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 2/3 cup because it was a little too sweet for me. (Tonight I decided to make 2 batches because my family loves it so much, but I accidentally used Baking Powder instead of Baking Soda for both. The bread didn't rise as well.. so don't accidentally use Baking Powder!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is the recipe you want, just good basic cornbread. I skipped the saucepan step and melted the butter in the microwave for one minute in a mixing bowl. Then I and added all the ingredients to that bowl. Made clean up even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So good. slightly sweet, very moist with a crisp crust. Very easy to make. Followed instructions and came out beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States