Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love sweet cornbread. This is the best recipe that I have found. I did have to reduce the cooking time to about 30 minutes. The first time I made this I just happened to check at 35 minutes and it was already over cooked. Just keep a close eye on it the first time you make it and figure out the correct time for your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I cut the sugar back to 1/2 C., and since I live at an elevation roughly 140 feet above sea level, I baked in over for 25 MINUTES and it came out moist and wonderful !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaMoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved it! Easy. Doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9x13. I made this as directed and it was not too sweet. It was not too cakey and did not fall apart. Just so you know how sweet it is, it is sweet but not as sweet as Jiffy. This is the best recipe ever. Ate it with pulled pork one day and white chicken chili a couple days later. Yum! Thank you, Grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerlilly5909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was delicious light and fluffy. Easy to make. I cut the sugar down to half a cup and had it with seafood gumbo and brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love this cornbread . It is fast and yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It's definitely on the sweet side, but super easy and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great! Just needed to be in the oven for about 20 mins and it was done. I don't like my breads and cakes brown or dried out so like to take them out asap. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
aweseome recipe! we've made only a few small changes. 2/3 cup of sugar is way too much. we use 1/2 and it is still sweet and yummy. at 2/3 is was unpleasant to eat, but 1/2 is perfect. also, we use whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white flour, and i brown the butter before mixing the sugar in. in my oven, it's done in 25 minutes--way less the 40 it takes for grandma. :) and good thing! because this has become my little son's favorite food. he has me make it at least twice a week. thank you for the wonderful recipe! o, and one more thing: instead of buying buttermilk just for this recipe we use 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 cup of milk for the liquid. thanks again!! love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Probably the best cornbread ever. Don't over cook it! In my oven a toothpick comes out clean in 25 minutes. No need to bother with melting butter in the pan and making the batter there. I go with the traditional baking method of pre-mixed dry ingredients going into the wet ingredients, making the butter that way by melting it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHH73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States