Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great! Just needed to be in the oven for about 20 mins and it was done. I don't like my breads and cakes brown or dried out so like to take them out asap. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
aweseome recipe! we've made only a few small changes. 2/3 cup of sugar is way too much. we use 1/2 and it is still sweet and yummy. at 2/3 is was unpleasant to eat, but 1/2 is perfect. also, we use whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white flour, and i brown the butter before mixing the sugar in. in my oven, it's done in 25 minutes--way less the 40 it takes for grandma. :) and good thing! because this has become my little son's favorite food. he has me make it at least twice a week. thank you for the wonderful recipe! o, and one more thing: instead of buying buttermilk just for this recipe we use 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 cup of milk for the liquid. thanks again!! love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Probably the best cornbread ever. Don't over cook it! In my oven a toothpick comes out clean in 25 minutes. No need to bother with melting butter in the pan and making the batter there. I go with the traditional baking method of pre-mixed dry ingredients going into the wet ingredients, making the butter that way by melting it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHH73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is exactly what I expected a traditional cornbread to be. I like mine sweeter, which this recipe delivered. Followed recipe to the letter, except for using 2 T vinegar to sour my milk since I didn't have buttermilk. Served along Southern Fried Cabbage, also from this site, which is a great pairing! I will definitely make this cornbread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 2 TB and now it is perfect. Thanks so much for a great recipe I make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great tasting cornbread and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natahnya Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this exact for the family once and we all wished there had been more! It's perfect! I always make my cornbread in a cast iron skillet that I preheat with the oven. Then poor the batter straight into the hot skillet! It gives a slight crispness to the outer edge! So yum! And who doesn't love baking in a cast iron! I do like to play, but I didn't change the base of the recipe cause it's perfect! So I've made it several times more adding 3/4-1 cup fresh corn. And another variation was adding diced red pepper and green chilies for a Mexican flare! Love all of it! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Have made this so many times, always gets great reviews! Kept recipe exactly as listed. I do find with my convection oven bakes fast, so I cut the cook time so it stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Ahearn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've been looking for a good cornbread recipe for a long time that's not too mushy and not too dry, with lots of flavor. This is it. Perfect the way it is, I love sweet moist cornbread, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States