Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Positively Angel
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Best Corn Bread Recipe ever! I've made many corn bread recipes and this was the best. Be careful not to over-cook, moist cornbread is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I made this cornbread last minute to accompany my chili. It seriously made the meal! I will never make chili without this recipe again. My husband and I are looking forward to having it for leftovers for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Made this while we were camping to go with our chili. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
This is my go to recipe for corn bread! All I can say is Yummmm! I usually double the recipe and bake it in a 9X13 pan and start checking it at 30 minutes to make sure its cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Loved this recipe! First time i tried it, it was perfect. I think the celcius conversion of the oven temperature is wrong though. Made the inside of my cornbread moist when i tried the second and third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
So good! I melted the butter in the microwave and bypassed using a skillet altogether. I also added 2/3 cup of drained canned corn and used fat free buttermilk. It turned out delicious! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Fantastic recipe! We always make it to serve with homemade chili. This is the best cornbread recipe we've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
For years I have tried to make cornbread like my Great Auntie. This recipe is it! FANTASTIC! Will use every time I make cornbread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I am vegan so I switched some things around. I used almond milk, egg replacer, and olive oil instead of buttermilk, eggs, and butter. I also added fresh corn and reduced the amount of sugar. The bread was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I have made this at least 30 times and NO ONE just wants one piece. There is NEVER any left overs. A recipe I will use for many years to come! Amazing paired with a salty/spicy dish of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States