Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Grandma knows best! Especially when it comes to baking. Love this classic cornbread recipe. Used a 9x9 pan, so the pieces were a bit smaller. (I just decided to buy an 8x8 pan to use the next time I make this.) Flavor was sweet, and I like that. Texture was good. Quick and easy recipe. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is it! The perfect sweet cornbread recipe! Something soo simple and perfect. I make exactly this recipe and pour the mixture into 2 five inch round corningware dishes and pop 'em in the toaster oven to get more toasty oven goodness with a perfect moist center. I am sure this bread along with the copious amounts of butter i slather on it, will be the death of me. Smiling to the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
too sweet for me, but otherwise good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I won the church cornbread contest last night at our annual bean dinner using this recipe. Made exactly as printed, but I did decrease the sugar to 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
chris' fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Used this recipe for thanksgiving. Followed exactly as laid out. My family raved about the cornbread and consumed it all. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Have not made this because I would never even think of putting sugar in my cornbread...puttin in sugar makes it a corn cake...and not a true southern cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I have always made cornbread the way my southern born and raised Dad made it, and the way his Mother made it. No sugar...bacon cooked in a cast iron skillet then reserve the bacon for another use and leave some dripping in the skillet and use a tablespoon of the drippings in the batter with the other ingredients and NO SUGAR. Pour batter in the hot skillet and bake.The crust is golden brown. This is the most flavorful cornbread ever.It's not what is considered the healthiest but WOW it sure tastes the best. Everything in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I love buttermilk cornbread! To the reviewer who said that no southerner adds sugar to their cornbread, well, this southeastern Texan does. Try this recipe. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmdw
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Fantastic. Baked it in my cast iron skillet for 25min. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States