Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good recipe, tasty cornbread. I used milk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I will do buttermilk next time because I think it will be even better. I used a casserole dish but cast iron is what I usually bake this kind of bread in. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
For those true southerners who don't put sugar in their cornbread this isn't a southern cornbread. For those of us in the rest of the country this is the best cornbread you'll ever eat! I changed the directions but follow the ingredient list and amounts...I soak the cornmeal in the buttermilk first, then add the butter that I melted in the microwave and the eggs. Next I mix the rest of the dry ingredients in a large bowl and then combine with the wet ingredients. I take a tablespoon of butter and put it in my iron skillet and stick it the oven to melt and heat up the pan. I pour the batter into the iron skillet and bake for about 30 minutes until the cornbread is done. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best cornbread recipe I've ever made. Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! I use a cast iron skillet and preheat in the oven with my butter in it. After it melts I mix the butter in with my batter mix. Then I put back into the hot cast iron to cook in the oven. Makes the perfect crust every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thank you for the recipe. I had to make it gluten free. So I substituted 2 Tablespoons potato starch and the balance oat flour for the 1 cup of wheat flour. Turned out awesome. Grandma's recipes are always the best. Even used my Grandma's old cast iron frying pan to bake it. By the way, I detest when people say they changed every ingredient in the recipe and then didn't like it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I didn't get a picture because it was gone so fast. So simple and delicious! I doubled the recipe and baked it in 2, 8in rounds. My kids ate it up like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBOOTH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
First timé that I made corn bread . This recipe was easy to do. It was very moist. Will make this to go with my next chille dish. Willie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Usé 1\2 tz de azúcar en vez de 2\3 tz,y hornee en el microondas en molde de cupcakes individuales, hornee cada bizcochito por 1:00 minuto, la receta es excelente pero me gustaría qué quedara más esponjosa. (= I used 1 \ 2 cup of sugar instead of 2 \ 3 cup, and bake in the microwave in individual mold cupcakes, bake each Bizcochito by minute 1:00, the recipe is excellent but I would do remain more fluffy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made it as per the recipe, making buttermilk substitute with milk and vinegar. The family really enjoyed it. I may try the cast iron skillet method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This cornbread is amazing! It was fluffy and cake-like and delicious. I added some corn kernels to the mixture but kept the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States