Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I must add another 5 star rating! This is a tasty cornbread that is easy to spread butter on without crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
My family loves this recipe! The only difference was I didn't use a skillet just used a bowl and melted it in the microwave. Also with the milk I use regular plus 1 tablespoon of vinegar. I've been making this recipe for sometime. Tonight I changed the recipe some so my daughter (who is allergic to milk) could have some. I used soy butter and rice milk with vinegar. Was still really good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I ??this cornbread! Super moist, not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
My new cornbread recipe.. my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasval

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is definitely the best go to cornbread. Anyone who tries it falls in love. I've made it as is, cutting the sugar by half, and using whole wheat flour. Still absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
delicious!! Held together well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Delicious! Followed as it says just added some drained corn, and it was sweet and moist. Just as good on day two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My3sonsR
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have baked this recipe several times n the only time it wasn't fabulous was the ONE time I forgot to add the baking soda. Otherwise, the recipe is " a la perfecta"! The butter makes it oh so crunchy which my husband ( and myself) loves. And we can NEVER eat just one piece! ?? Cyndi g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We had a soup night yesterday(http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tim-Perrys-Soup-Creamy-Curry-Cauliflower-and-Broccoli-Soup/?prop31=3)and for some reason I thought of having cornbread with it. I don't often think of cornbread as a dinner side, especially if sweet. But the sweetness complimented the more savory flavours in the soup. I decided to try baking it in a cast iron skillet. 24 minutes later it was ready to eat. Beautiful when served warm. Confession: I accidentally put double the baking soda in the batter but without duplicate ingredients for a do-over, I had to forge ahead. I thought it was doomed to taste soapy and 10" tall but fortunately it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States