Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Very sweet and I love it! My southern friends and family usually down care for the sweetness of it but I think it's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made into muffins. I ended up baking them for about 17 min. I was out of cornmeal so I used polenta, and the texture came out a little odd. But the flavor was delicious, and not too sweet like I originally feared when I first read the recipe. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I dumped it all in one bowl and baked them in muffin tins at 400F for 16 minutes. Came out perfectly soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Excellent recipe. I knew 2/3 cup sugar would be too sweet for my taste so I cut the sugar in half. Also I added one finely diced jalapeno pepper, plus diced red onion. Best cornbread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was really good! I've never made cornbread before but this was exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly. Would definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
great recipe very easy can add fresh fruit family and friends love love love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Hello everyone,I have just finished baking and have to say ..that It has turned out great ! Thank you for the recipe ! It was a great help :-) I absolutely recommend you to bake this cornbread ,no worries just follow the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
One of the best cornbread recipe I tried! Just remember to beat the eggs in quickly or temper the eggs - if you don't pay attention or are too slow about it, the eggs can cook in the heat :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Holy crimeny, this recipe is good! I made buttermilk with milk and lemon juice since I didn't have the "real deal" but beyond that, followed the recipe exactly. Our oven runs a bit cool so it also took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but it was SO good! Wow! The top formed a beautiful golden crust, which was perfect, and it was the most moist cornbread I've ever had, as well as the sweetest. I ate it without honey or even butter, even cold a day later, and it was still amazing. This is my new "go to" cornbread recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Carney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,998) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States