Grandmother Stougaard's Caramel Pecan Sweet Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aldudinsky
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Amazing!!! This was my first attempt at making homemade, from scratch yeast bread anything! They take some time but are easy to make. I followed another's suggestion and added a tablespoon of sugar to the flour as I was making the dough (I also made these using ONLY whole wheat flour!) and left out the water in the topping preparation. I didn't bother measuring the butter I used for the inside of the rolls, and I didn't measure the sugar or the cinnamon I sprinkled on the inside either. That part can be tweaked to your personal liking. These are perfect!! Perfectly sweet, but not too sweet; perfectly sticky and plenty of topping as well! I'll be making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I just used the caramel from this recipe and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inthefrey
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Double this recipe. Used bread machine to knead the dough for 8 minutes. Added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract to topping. They turned out amazing! Rave reviews from the wife and kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
You saved our Christmas! My Mom passed away this year, and she always made the most amazing carmel nut rolls, she was one of those cooks that never measured anything and everything always tasted incredible. Well every Christmas she would bake these and the house smelled amazing, none of us kids got to have any until all the neighbors had theirs, it was eager anticipation Christmas day when she would make a batch for us. I am not patient enough to make the dough part of the recipe, so I cheated and purchased the frozen cinnamon roll dough, and used the carmel part of the recipe, Thank you so much, they turned out like my Moms, the family is thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These were just okay. The roll portion had good texture and flavor (wasn't overly sweet). What I didn't like was the graininess of the carmel topping. The sugar never made it to a syrup consistency. I think I would try briefly cooking this down on the stove until the sugar was melted before pouring it into the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I used butter rather than margarine and omitted the water in the sauce and instead added more butter. Very yummy! I just wish you didn't have to wait so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
First thing anyone who makes this should know is: GREASE THE PAN! If you don't, you'll probably run into some difficulty getting the rolls out without wrecking a couple of them. I followed the recipe exactly as written and, other than wishing I had greased the pan first, I was delighted with the results. Nice texture, not too sweet, and relatively easy for this kind of bread. Perfect size; most cinnamon roll recipes make two pans, which is too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Absolutely perfect!!! My first attempt at caramel rolls, and they came out perfect due to the ingenious recipe. I never thought I would find a recipe that is soooo close to the perfect rolls I buy in Lusk, WY. THANK YOU FOR SUBMITTING THIS RECIPE!!! Classic Chef #2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Classic Chef #2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Not Large Not Small Mouth watering and delicious . You can pop a few in your mouth as you go about making breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made them savory using half whole wheat flour and leeks with seasoning. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States