Grandmother Stougaard's Caramel Pecan Sweet Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were very good and worth getting up a little early for on a holiday morning. I'd recommend not letting it sit too long before inverting the pan and serving them, because the topping will start to solidify if it cools too much. Next time I might use a little more butter and just a bit less brown sugar in the topping, but then again, I like the gooey factor when I have caramel rolls. These would be just as good without the pecans, too, for people who have allergies or just don't like pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These were my first attempt at homemade sweet rolls ever. Had very little confidence in myself to complete this recipe successfully. BUT WOW!!!! Let me tell ya....these are WONDERFULl!!! Seriously, very simple and very delicious. I can't stay out of them. Didn't change a thing from the recipe either. Followed it to the "T" and they came out perfect. Highly recommend anyone give it a try...from beginner to expert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and made the dough in my bread machine. I also double the corn syrup/brown sugar mixture as I made them in 9x13" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I had to add 3 tbs more water to the dough to get all the flour to incorporate and they topping was a bit to "hard" for my taste. They had good taste but after they were no longer hot we had to throw em in the nuker so the sticky on the top didn't break our teeth out. I could totally be to blame for the topping so I intend on trying these again but all in all a pretty solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought they were very good! I did make the dough in the bread machine which saves much effort! I also added more sugar to the dough (1/3 cup) to make it more of a sweet dough...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Wonderful recipe. My hubby can not get enough of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were pretty good! I forgot to add the water to the caramel mixture, but am glad I did. Next time I may add a splash of vanilla to up the flavor of the caramel mixture a bit. Since I didn't have margarine I used butter and had to use an extra tbs to spread onto the dough before rolling. Would have preferred a little more cinnamon flavor, so will be a bit more liberal next time (just a preferance, but I love cinnamon). I used more than 1/2 a cup of pecans and still felt it wasn't close to enough, next time I will probably chop up about a cup instead. All in all, very good "old fashioned" tasting sticky buns; I even got a "these are really good" from my father and THAT is a feat. Thanks for the recipe Grandma S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Good Rolls! I too didn't add the water in the caramel sauce and they turned out great! dough isn't hard to make either! Will make a double next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Gonka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these were very good. the only reason i rated this as four starts is because the "caramel" was runny when i filled the buns onto a plate after i took them out of the oven. it didn't really stick to the top of the rolls. i think i'll omit the water next time. otherwise, these were very yummy. even the dough tasted so much better than the pre-made rolls at the store and mall. i am definitely going to try this recipe again, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I don't usually review recipes where I dont't make the entire recipe, but I had to review this one even though I only used the caramel topping and center part. I cheated and used a box of hot roll mix and these turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States