Grandmom's Sand Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was a good recipe. My family really enjoyed them. We will add it to our family favorites! Thanks for sharing such a treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I'm not sure what happened here, but these did not work out too well. When you say that you get a "sticky dough" mine was more like cake batter. I thought I did something wrong and added more flour. They were ok, but too floury. As a regular bread baker, when someone says sticky dough, I picture something I can hold that is sticky to the touch. I may try these again sometime, but not this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
We have changed this recipe to include more flour. The original submission did not specify an amount, and we believe the amount originally stated was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Thanks Patty, for this truly authentic Sand Tart Cookie recipe. This wafer thin gem is one of the joys of Christmas! I roll them out on a slab of marble that used to be the top of an end table. I set the slab on the back porch to "chill" in between batches. It makes the rolling out easy for the thinnest possible cookie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
My grandmother would tell you that you should see light thru the cookie. I have made these for years. They are a wonderful holiday tradition. I have never met anyone who could eat just one. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
It was sticky mess added flour but the tasted like flour then..nothing like my grandma made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anya
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Best recipe ! Nice fluffy melt in your mouth perfect .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We use a slightly different recipe (different proportions) and we generally make these at Christmas time so we use Christmas shaped cookie cutters and decorate with colored sprinkles/sugar. We don't do the egg white mixture - just put the sprinkles on and they stick once baked. To make the dough cool enough to work with without waiting overnight we wrap it in wax paper and put it in the freezer for a while. My daughter is gluten free and I've even made ours with gluten free flour (I used a mix that's "all purpose" from Wegman's but the Bob's Red Mill works as well). This year when we rolled them out I used coconut flour and they came out just like the regular ones. Last year we used the all purpose mix and when they baked they puffed up instead of staying thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States