Grandma's Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Great - Easy recipe. Couple of tips: after filling tins with drippings or oil, heat tin in oven until very hot (5-7 mins.), then remove from oven and fill with batter. I used regular sized muffin tins, and had left over batter. Either fill up 3/4 the way (instead of half way) which worked for me, or use a large muffin size tin. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Terrible instructions. Following these will make it impossible for a successful pudding. NOTE!!!!! HEAT THE OIL/FAT IN THE PUD TRAY FOR APPROX 10MINS IE SO THE OIL IS SMOKING. QUICKLY REMOVE THE TRAY AND POUR THE BATTER. (IT SHOULD SPIT IN THE TRAY). NOW GET IT BACK IN THE OVEN IMMEDIATELY. DO NOT PEAK HALF WAY THRU AS THE PUDS COULD COLLAPSE. 3/4 THRU COOKING LOWER THE TEMPERATURE TO LET HEKP STOP THE BASE BEING SOGGY. Hope this helps. ps unlike others at least you remembered the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Yum, these are good! I love Yorkshire pudding but this was my first time trying to make it. Turned out very nice. Instead of a 6-muffin tin, I used a 12-muffin tin (smaller muffins than the 6-pan) and had batter to fill 8 of the cups to 3/4. Also, I used bacon grease and butter instead of beef drippings (just enough to cover the bottom of the tins). I noticed the bacon grease was smoking a bit so I moved the tray to the middle rack - no problems after that. Followed the other directions exactly with no substitutions. The Yorkies rose to 2x their height and were perfectly golden and yummy. Will definitely make again! Some tips: 1) the tray needs to be very very hot! Keep it in the oven for 5-7 min as recommended. 2) make the batter and let it sit for a bit while the oven preheats. 3) fill the tins as quickly as possible and pop back in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have watched the Martha Stewart special on comcast on demand where she makes yorkies about 10 times (no exaggeration) and I've made them before and learned from my mistakes so I have some handy tips. First, make sure to mix your batter about half hour before baking, so it isn't cold. Second, mix very well, until it is smooth, and add milk (I used half and half) just until it's a smooth consistency. I didn't need all of the milk. Third, preheat your muffin tin until it's HOT. Add just enough drippings to cover the bottom. I have a very hot oven, so I baked the yorkies for 10 minutes at 450, then 10 minutes at 350. They rose SKY HIGH, and the texture was perfect. Very light and tasty, complimented my prime rib very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe but needed a bit of tweeking, which is why I gave it four stars. I found that you needed to cook it only 10 minutes more at 350 or they got way overdone. If you are using melted butter instead of drippings, I would reccomend omitting the salt. Overall very tasty and easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Doubled recipe which made 12.Saved the grease from the roast for gravy. Put 1 tsp. canola oil into each muffin tin and heated in 450 degree oven for 5 mins. Then quickly poured in batter. Took out 5 mins early because it was really browning but I should have cooked a little longer, there were a few that were a little wet. Overall, excellent and tasty. Will use this recipe everytime we have roast beef. UPDATE: first time I have used the drippings from the roast and I tried using the convection setting for the oven and the yorkshires were the highest and the best ever!!! Was it the drippings or the convection method that made then rise higher?? Also cooked way faster this way. 18mins or so. Update:cooked them on lowest rack setting, down with 8 mins left and nice and crispy!! Thanks, Michele, Cambridge, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Excellent. I didn't have any beef drippings (I've never cooked a roast big enough to get a whole cup from!) but butter worked just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I loved the individual servings. I also heated the drippings in the muffin tin before I added the batter. They were perfect. They remained puffy even after they cooled. I will never go back to putting the batter in one pie plate again. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Last year, I rated this recipe 5 stars b/c of presentation. This year, I'm changing it to 4 stars. If you prepare this using all the beef drippings, it makes a MESS in your oven. So, it's best to have a catch try beneath the muffin pan to catch all the over-flowing fluids. I still LOVE the presentation / taste of this recipe. However, I believe the quantities of the ingredients are inaccurate. This recipe needs adjusting to receive the coveted 5-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I was so excited these came out perfect! I was so afraid they would fall (high altitude) but these were a success. Great with warm honey and butter. Must serve straight from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States