Grandma's Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
kids loved this and the hubby wants it for most meals now. thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
excellent. my family loved it and they are not easy to please. next time i will grease the entire muffin pan before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Yum, these are good! I love Yorkshire pudding but this was my first time trying to make it. Turned out very nice. Instead of a 6-muffin tin, I used a 12-muffin tin (smaller muffins than the 6-pan) and had batter to fill 8 of the cups to 3/4. Also, I used bacon grease and butter instead of beef drippings (just enough to cover the bottom of the tins). I noticed the bacon grease was smoking a bit so I moved the tray to the middle rack - no problems after that. Followed the other directions exactly with no substitutions. The Yorkies rose to 2x their height and were perfectly golden and yummy. Will definitely make again! Some tips: 1) the tray needs to be very very hot! Keep it in the oven for 5-7 min as recommended. 2) make the batter and let it sit for a bit while the oven preheats. 3) fill the tins as quickly as possible and pop back in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
these are not usually simple to make but I was pleasantly surprised at the success of this recipe..I did, however, heat up the muffin tins in the oven first...it's supposed to help them rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Unfortunately I tried to alter this recipe and ended up with a smoky oven and kitchen. I put 1 tbsp of bacon grease in the muffin cups (bacon grease is what I normally use - but probably 1/2 tbsp less) and then put it in the oven to get really hot before putting in the batter. It was really delicious but the grease was all over the oven and I expected the smoke detector to go off at any point. That wouldn't have impressed the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Mine didn't puff at all. I must have done something wrong. Not at all like I remember they should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe but needed a bit of tweeking, which is why I gave it four stars. I found that you needed to cook it only 10 minutes more at 350 or they got way overdone. If you are using melted butter instead of drippings, I would reccomend omitting the salt. Overall very tasty and easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Doubled recipe which made 12.Saved the grease from the roast for gravy. Put 1 tsp. canola oil into each muffin tin and heated in 450 degree oven for 5 mins. Then quickly poured in batter. Took out 5 mins early because it was really browning but I should have cooked a little longer, there were a few that were a little wet. Overall, excellent and tasty. Will use this recipe everytime we have roast beef. UPDATE: first time I have used the drippings from the roast and I tried using the convection setting for the oven and the yorkshires were the highest and the best ever!!! Was it the drippings or the convection method that made then rise higher?? Also cooked way faster this way. 18mins or so. Update:cooked them on lowest rack setting, down with 8 mins left and nice and crispy!! Thanks, Michele, Cambridge, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Oh my gosh! After about 3 or 4 glasses of wine I forgot my dinner and ate 3 of these smothered with more butter and honey! They were so good, next time I will try with a little cinnamon and sugar for breakfast. So easy, So good and satisfying!!! Thanks so much for sharing this special recipe. I'm going for another glass of wine and a 'Yorkie"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Very, very good. A wonderful accompaniment to prime rib or roast beef. I had only about 1/2 cup of the beef drippings and doubled the recipe, but I did as others suggested and replaced the missing dripping with melted butter. Boy was it good! Tasted just like the yorkshire pudding's at the popular prime rib restaraunt chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States