Grandma's Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Yorkshire is my absolute favourite. These turned out wonderfully. I used homo milk and olive oil instead. Obviously you must pre-heat the oil in the muffin tins for 5 minutes. Just delish! Thanks grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Never before have I made yorkies that actually 'grew'! These are very tasty albeit not quite as light as my Nana's. Still they actually peeked out of the pan and that's enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Easy to make for a novice like me. Whole family enjoyed and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have watched the Martha Stewart special on comcast on demand where she makes yorkies about 10 times (no exaggeration) and I've made them before and learned from my mistakes so I have some handy tips. First, make sure to mix your batter about half hour before baking, so it isn't cold. Second, mix very well, until it is smooth, and add milk (I used half and half) just until it's a smooth consistency. I didn't need all of the milk. Third, preheat your muffin tin until it's HOT. Add just enough drippings to cover the bottom. I have a very hot oven, so I baked the yorkies for 10 minutes at 450, then 10 minutes at 350. They rose SKY HIGH, and the texture was perfect. Very light and tasty, complimented my prime rib very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was my first attempt at Yorkshire Puddings. My DH loved them. Leftovers were great the next morning warmed and topped with strawberry jam. This one is going in my "keepers" recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I tried this as my usual recipe has caused my puds to be known as Yorkshire Pancakes as they never rise. But these rose a treat. I will definitely use this recipe in future. My only reason for not giving five stars is because the instructions don't tell you that you absolutely have to heat the oil first. But that aside, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Terrible instructions. Following these will make it impossible for a successful pudding. NOTE!!!!! HEAT THE OIL/FAT IN THE PUD TRAY FOR APPROX 10MINS IE SO THE OIL IS SMOKING. QUICKLY REMOVE THE TRAY AND POUR THE BATTER. (IT SHOULD SPIT IN THE TRAY). NOW GET IT BACK IN THE OVEN IMMEDIATELY. DO NOT PEAK HALF WAY THRU AS THE PUDS COULD COLLAPSE. 3/4 THRU COOKING LOWER THE TEMPERATURE TO LET HEKP STOP THE BASE BEING SOGGY. Hope this helps. ps unlike others at least you remembered the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
These were a little bit more dense than I'm used to, but they were pretty good - not as good as my mum's, of course! -but I would make them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I've never had yorkshire pudding before trying this recipe. It looks rather impressive after cooking the way it rises up over the baking cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was so easy to make, and the best I have ever tasted!! I did use a bit of melted butter in each muffin cup (heated for 5 minutes)instead of the drippings, used a 12 cup muffin tin. Gotta try these, they were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States