Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gizmothy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I Found If You Bake On Greased Flat Cookie Sheet. That These Rolls Come Out Bigger And Better Looking. If There To Sweet Then Next Batch Omit 1/4 Cup Sugar. I Tryed With 3 Yeast Total Instead Of 2.5 And You Cant Beat The Results. Better Than Grandmas I Think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Most yeast roll recipes that I have tried have not called for sugar! These were OK! But not GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4-H girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i found this recipe to be just what the doctor ordered. i tripled the sugar though because my family loves sweet rolls. they were a huge hit at easter dinner this last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 5 cups of flour initially and only had to add another 1/2 cup for the right consistancy. A big hit! They are delicious and everyone loved them. I will use this recipe again and again. This is a little more dense than some yeast rolls but that's what made it like G-ma's! Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rolls are amazing sweet, tender, and easy to make. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I knew when I seen "lard" in the recipe it was a old recipe, so it had to be good. My mom has been making these rolls as long as I can remember. We have them every year at Thanksgiving. Best rolls on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very easy and made me look good. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've never made yeast rolls before, so I read all of the reviews and followed their advice and my rolls came out DELICIOUS! They created the best aroma in my kitchen... I actually made them with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 1/2 cups white (which may be why they came out a little more dense than I was hoping, but many other reviewers said this was just a dense recipe...either way they made great dinner rolls). If you only use 5 1/2 cups of flour (which I recommend starting out with) you will have to add a little extra as you're kneading because it will be a little sticky for sure. Turned out great and will be saving this recipe! Thanks Dotty and thank you reviewers for your insights! Side note: I had a little extra dough than I needed so decided to try out the dough as cinnamon crescents, and they were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States