Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Almost as good as Grandma's. After all, you all can't knock your own grandmother's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Maine, USA
Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gizmothy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I Found If You Bake On Greased Flat Cookie Sheet. That These Rolls Come Out Bigger And Better Looking. If There To Sweet Then Next Batch Omit 1/4 Cup Sugar. I Tryed With 3 Yeast Total Instead Of 2.5 And You Cant Beat The Results. Better Than Grandmas I Think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this yesterday and it tasted okay with our dinner. I thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Most yeast roll recipes that I have tried have not called for sugar! These were OK! But not GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4-H girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
am I the only one who ended up with about 3 cups too much flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy
Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A good basic start for a yeast roll, seems to be a sweeter slightly more dense roll, but that it what I prefer. Like another reviewer I needed a bit more fluid after the 6 1/2 cups of flour...I think I added about 1/4 cup more warm water but it did not seem to affect the recipe at all by adding at the end of mixing when I discovered a dry dough. Rising time was closer to 60-70 minutes for doubling in size. Baking time ended up about 35 minutes on a cookie sheet. Easily makes 24 good size rolls. Very happy overall and will use this recipe again, maybe trying to brush a bit of melted butter on the tops before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i found this recipe to be just what the doctor ordered. i tripled the sugar though because my family loves sweet rolls. they were a huge hit at easter dinner this last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as published. I found the rolls to be tough and heavy. I could have/should have used less flour than what was called for. Tasted okay but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 5 cups of flour initially and only had to add another 1/2 cup for the right consistancy. A big hit! They are delicious and everyone loved them. I will use this recipe again and again. This is a little more dense than some yeast rolls but that's what made it like G-ma's! Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The rolls did not raise well, and while they tasted good, the texture was very thick and heavy. They would probably be better with more yeast, and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States