Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very easy and made me look good. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliebrent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
***USE LESS FLOUR*** I only used about 5 cups of flour and 1/2 cup for kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used 5 cups of floor (make sure its fresh) and made them into 36 smaller balls--Im a guy and do a lot of parties and these always are a hit...also try some of the ambrosia recipes here they are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beloit, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I knew when I seen "lard" in the recipe it was a old recipe, so it had to be good. My mom has been making these rolls as long as I can remember. We have them every year at Thanksgiving. Best rolls on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rolls are amazing sweet, tender, and easy to make. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've never made yeast rolls before, so I read all of the reviews and followed their advice and my rolls came out DELICIOUS! They created the best aroma in my kitchen... I actually made them with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 1/2 cups white (which may be why they came out a little more dense than I was hoping, but many other reviewers said this was just a dense recipe...either way they made great dinner rolls). If you only use 5 1/2 cups of flour (which I recommend starting out with) you will have to add a little extra as you're kneading because it will be a little sticky for sure. Turned out great and will be saving this recipe! Thanks Dotty and thank you reviewers for your insights! Side note: I had a little extra dough than I needed so decided to try out the dough as cinnamon crescents, and they were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I am not sure if I messed the recipe up or what. First off, I overcooked them because it said to bake for about an hour. I should have checked at the half hour mark. That probably would have been long enough. They were overdone - my fault for not checking but I think if it takes about a half hour to bake, it shouldn't say an hour on the recipe. Even if they hadn't been overdone I don't think I would have liked them. They were too dense and tasted more like biscuits to me. I was really disappointed. This was my first attempt at making yeast roll so maybe I need more practice but I am going to try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were far too stiff. I wondered if the recipe was incorrect. Maybe it should have called for 2 3/4 cup of water rather than 1 3/4? Very dry and didn't rise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States