Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gizmothy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I Found If You Bake On Greased Flat Cookie Sheet. That These Rolls Come Out Bigger And Better Looking. If There To Sweet Then Next Batch Omit 1/4 Cup Sugar. I Tryed With 3 Yeast Total Instead Of 2.5 And You Cant Beat The Results. Better Than Grandmas I Think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i found this recipe to be just what the doctor ordered. i tripled the sugar though because my family loves sweet rolls. they were a huge hit at easter dinner this last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 5 cups of flour initially and only had to add another 1/2 cup for the right consistancy. A big hit! They are delicious and everyone loved them. I will use this recipe again and again. This is a little more dense than some yeast rolls but that's what made it like G-ma's! Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rolls are amazing sweet, tender, and easy to make. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I knew when I seen "lard" in the recipe it was a old recipe, so it had to be good. My mom has been making these rolls as long as I can remember. We have them every year at Thanksgiving. Best rolls on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Most yeast roll recipes that I have tried have not called for sugar! These were OK! But not GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4-H girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very easy and made me look good. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've never made yeast rolls before, so I read all of the reviews and followed their advice and my rolls came out DELICIOUS! They created the best aroma in my kitchen... I actually made them with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 1/2 cups white (which may be why they came out a little more dense than I was hoping, but many other reviewers said this was just a dense recipe...either way they made great dinner rolls). If you only use 5 1/2 cups of flour (which I recommend starting out with) you will have to add a little extra as you're kneading because it will be a little sticky for sure. Turned out great and will be saving this recipe! Thanks Dotty and thank you reviewers for your insights! Side note: I had a little extra dough than I needed so decided to try out the dough as cinnamon crescents, and they were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States