Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Most yeast roll recipes that I have tried have not called for sugar! These were OK! But not GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4-H girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i found this recipe to be just what the doctor ordered. i tripled the sugar though because my family loves sweet rolls. they were a huge hit at easter dinner this last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gizmothy
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I Found If You Bake On Greased Flat Cookie Sheet. That These Rolls Come Out Bigger And Better Looking. If There To Sweet Then Next Batch Omit 1/4 Cup Sugar. I Tryed With 3 Yeast Total Instead Of 2.5 And You Cant Beat The Results. Better Than Grandmas I Think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizmothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 5 cups of flour initially and only had to add another 1/2 cup for the right consistancy. A big hit! They are delicious and everyone loved them. I will use this recipe again and again. This is a little more dense than some yeast rolls but that's what made it like G-ma's! Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rolls are amazing sweet, tender, and easy to make. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I knew when I seen "lard" in the recipe it was a old recipe, so it had to be good. My mom has been making these rolls as long as I can remember. We have them every year at Thanksgiving. Best rolls on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very easy and made me look good. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliebrent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
5 Cups flour 2 cups water 3 pack yeast. Let rise twice as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States