Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very easy and made me look good. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
***USE LESS FLOUR*** I only used about 5 cups of flour and 1/2 cup for kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used 5 cups of floor (make sure its fresh) and made them into 36 smaller balls--Im a guy and do a lot of parties and these always are a hit...also try some of the ambrosia recipes here they are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beloit, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I knew when I seen "lard" in the recipe it was a old recipe, so it had to be good. My mom has been making these rolls as long as I can remember. We have them every year at Thanksgiving. Best rolls on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rolls are amazing sweet, tender, and easy to make. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've never made yeast rolls before, so I read all of the reviews and followed their advice and my rolls came out DELICIOUS! They created the best aroma in my kitchen... I actually made them with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 1/2 cups white (which may be why they came out a little more dense than I was hoping, but many other reviewers said this was just a dense recipe...either way they made great dinner rolls). If you only use 5 1/2 cups of flour (which I recommend starting out with) you will have to add a little extra as you're kneading because it will be a little sticky for sure. Turned out great and will be saving this recipe! Thanks Dotty and thank you reviewers for your insights! Side note: I had a little extra dough than I needed so decided to try out the dough as cinnamon crescents, and they were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I am not sure if I messed the recipe up or what. First off, I overcooked them because it said to bake for about an hour. I should have checked at the half hour mark. That probably would have been long enough. They were overdone - my fault for not checking but I think if it takes about a half hour to bake, it shouldn't say an hour on the recipe. Even if they hadn't been overdone I don't think I would have liked them. They were too dense and tasted more like biscuits to me. I was really disappointed. This was my first attempt at making yeast roll so maybe I need more practice but I am going to try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were far too stiff. I wondered if the recipe was incorrect. Maybe it should have called for 2 3/4 cup of water rather than 1 3/4? Very dry and didn't rise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States