Grandma's Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I will definely be making this. I found a gold mine recipe on a Barley box that is similar to this. It has water and beef stock or cubes instead of the tomato juice but calls for 1/2 cup of barley. I had never used barley but it sure makes the soup filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Loved this simple soup! I also used V8 juice, and added a small can of green peas, plus a bay leaf. Adding a small can of creamed corn, near the end of cooking time, will give vegetable soup a silky texture. Just be careful not to leave it on the burner too long afterward without stirring, or it can scortch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Loter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
this was really good. All I changed was adding some celery I had on hand and a bit of garlic. will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topanga, California, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good basic flavors. I added more seasoning because it was a bit bland. I added garlic, basil, thyme, and marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
EAsy recipe, still recovering from a cold and had lots of veggies to use. I also used a 46 oz jar of low sodium v8. Added some italian seasonings, cayenne pepper (trying to kick this sore throat), and various veggies that included mushrooms, canned green beans, edamame, canned corn, carrots, onions, celery, zucchini and some red peppers. I also had to thin it out a bit with a can of veggie broth. YUM. It made a lot of soup, but thank goodness it's not too hot yet to still eat it. FYI--cayenne pepper was only a pinch, it adds a kick to it but helps cures sore throats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is a great soup! I usually make soups, eat them one day and then never touch the leftovers. Not this one! I loved it and ate it all. It is easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is a great, easy soup. We try to eat healthy, so I substituted the ground beef with lean ground turkey. I followed the suggestions of others and used V8 instead of regular tomato juice. I also added some chopped fresh parsley, garlic, marjoram, celery salt, and basil. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I really like this soup. I only had 30oz. tomato juice, so I used chicken broth to make up the difference. I also only used one big potatoe and that was plenty. I will be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is very similar to a soup that I make. I use ground beef, various veggies and V8 juice rather than regular tomato juice. I've never added ginger, but sometimes add minced garlic. It's delicious and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Love this soup! 64oz low sodium V8, bag of frozen mixed veggies and a potato and you have an awesome soup. Have made this over and over again and never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States