Grandma's Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
WOW!! What a YUMMY soup!!! While not strictly vegetarian, the ground beef gave it a lot of body. Instead of tomato juice, I used vegetable juice, which gave it a really good flavor. I also cut the kernels off two fresh ears of corn and sauteed the onions after browning the beef and before adding the other vegs. Also, halfway through simmering I added 2 cups of veggie broth because the soup was getting very thick. I omitted the salt and pepper too, and didn't miss it. All in all, easy and delicious . . . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was very easy to make! I love those recipes you just dump together and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wheatland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Needed salt and pepper. Also added hot sauce to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
EAsy recipe, still recovering from a cold and had lots of veggies to use. I also used a 46 oz jar of low sodium v8. Added some italian seasonings, cayenne pepper (trying to kick this sore throat), and various veggies that included mushrooms, canned green beans, edamame, canned corn, carrots, onions, celery, zucchini and some red peppers. I also had to thin it out a bit with a can of veggie broth. YUM. It made a lot of soup, but thank goodness it's not too hot yet to still eat it. FYI--cayenne pepper was only a pinch, it adds a kick to it but helps cures sore throats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used this easy and very yummy recipe when my mom was going through chemotherapy. She LOVED IT, and my dad did too! This is soooo good and soooo easy - I will be hard pressed to have canned tomato soup ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This soup has the best taste I think it's the ginger. So easy to make I will use it over and over. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is a great, easy soup. We try to eat healthy, so I substituted the ground beef with lean ground turkey. I followed the suggestions of others and used V8 instead of regular tomato juice. I also added some chopped fresh parsley, garlic, marjoram, celery salt, and basil. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I really like this soup. I only had 30oz. tomato juice, so I used chicken broth to make up the difference. I also only used one big potatoe and that was plenty. I will be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is definitely my kind of recipe. It couldn't be easier to make and it's delicious. I didn't change a thing but it's one of those recipes that is so adaptable that you could add other veggies, rice or macaroni. I love soup and I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mission Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good basic flavors. I added more seasoning because it was a bit bland. I added garlic, basil, thyme, and marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States