Grandma's Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was mostly helpful for the basic idea of using up leftover tomato juice as a soup base (found using the ingredient search function). Worked out well. Used a bag of frozen veg in lieu of canned. Really thick - had to add auite a bit chicken broth to thin out. Barley is great in this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This soup is very good. I have my own tomato soup that I make in the fall of the year and that makes it better than the store bought tomato soup. I will add this one to my recipe collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good and easy! I used matchstick carrots and already chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was a very good soup! My husband and I really enjoyed it but my kids (ages 5 and 8) wouldn't eat it. Not sure why. I don't usually make tomato based soups, but I'm glad I gave this a try. It's hearty and very flavorful. I made a few changes. I used V8 instead of tomato juice, as some other reviewers suggested. I also used fresh green beans, cut into small pieces, instead of canned and frozen corn instead of canned. Too make up for the lost liquid, I used one can of petite diced tomatoes with liquid and some chicken broth. I will make a couple changes next time I make this. I'll add some chopped zucchini just for more veggies and I'll cut down on the amount of V8 and cut it further with chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Hubby said this was the best vegetable soup he has tasted! I just substituted a bag of frozen soup veggies instead of fresh veggies and added some garlic powder for flavor. Served it along with cornbread. The ginger gave it a slightly different flavor than we had tasted before (although I think added more ginger than it called for. I don't measure spices, I just dump some in).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was soo good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very good! Very healthy! I thought it could use about one more cup of tomato juice but all in all, very yummy. I used v-8 and fresh green beans. So easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Excellent. The only change I made was to add celery and frozen zucchini and skip the corn. Will become a staple in our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this last night for my boyfriend and he loved it! I added a can of diced tomatoes, a little bit of shredded cabbage, and some garlic! So simple and tasty! Healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I found this while looking for a way to use up some tomato juice I had in the fridge. This was super delicious and super easy to make. My 12 year old son made this soup, with a little help from me. Even my husband, who doesn't like tomato based things, liked it enough to have seconds. My only modification was to add a can of chopped tomatoes because I didn't have a full 64 ounces of tomato juice. We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States