Grandma's Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is a cool, quick recipe that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
They deleted important information from my recipe after I submitted it! For taffy success it is important to know that the taffy is ready when it reaches 275F AND turns a brownish color. If your taffy comes out too soft then you didn't heat it enough. Also, the taffy is ready to pull when you try to pull it away from the side of the pan and it takes on a "gelatin" consistency: solid, but elastic. Make sure you DO NOT butter your hands with this taffy - if you do it will fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
super yummy! i over cooked it accidently so it was crunchy like hard candy but it was delicious!! i will be using this again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
VERY tasty! but it came out hard for me, perhaps I didn't have my thermometer set to the right depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Though it takes more time than it says I still love this recipe. You need to be careful though because if you boil it too long it get really hard. The first time I tried I actually broke my scissors! It is fun to make and taster even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
this made caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It was my first try with any kind of candy recipe and it worked! however, it tastes like butterscoth (which i also like) and is a lot harder than taffy (but not as hard as butterscotch???) Ultimately tasty and a good first try for candy. (i did grease the pan with butter and it worked fine). I used strawberry extract and it doesn't really taste like strawberry much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sporkdelis
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Had to do this recipe twice because I didn't quite understand what "soft crack" looked like in cold water. The first turned out gooey and messy, but was a lot like airheads candy... if it were a frozen treat as that was the only way to keep it solid. My next attempt turned out perfect, I either pulled it too long or let it cook too long because it got a litttle harder than I would have liked it (a lot like now and later candy), but it turned out great otherwise. I made half the yield because I knew that I couldn't pull all of that taffy, as it was I pulled so long and it got so hard that I almost gave myself a blister. I also used a packet of kool-aid instead of the extract and food coloring. I tried the suggestion to use wax paper, which I won't do again, I just lost a bunch of taffy on the paper. I buttered my hands since I didn't butter the pan, and it didn't fall apart, but I didn't butter the pan, so that would explain that. great recipe and I will be making lots and lots of taffy for gifts this christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
My 3-year-old daughter has been very into helping me in the kitchen lately, so I made this with her today and it turned out delicious! We cooked it to 260 degrees (hard ball stage) and it was the absolute perfect consistency...chewy and firm, but not enough to pull out your fillings or hurt your jaw. What a fun activity to do with kids, or without. We happened to have raspberry flavoring and colored it pink. We will definitely be making this again in more flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The temperature is correct; you should stop at soft crack, not hard crack and as you reach that temperature you should take the pan off the heat immediately. Soft ball stage will give you very sticky soft sweets. Taffy is definitely cooked to soft crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States