Grandma's Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
this is not working! i have been boiling this for an hour now!!! it is not going above 200 degrees, not browning and not thickening. something is wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Taffy is a soft ball candy and therefore the temperature should be 234F and not 275F! 275F is almost hard crack which is candy cane consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I tried making this several times and I couldn't get it to ever get to that soft texture. It was always very hard, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sporkdelis
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Had to do this recipe twice because I didn't quite understand what "soft crack" looked like in cold water. The first turned out gooey and messy, but was a lot like airheads candy... if it were a frozen treat as that was the only way to keep it solid. My next attempt turned out perfect, I either pulled it too long or let it cook too long because it got a litttle harder than I would have liked it (a lot like now and later candy), but it turned out great otherwise. I made half the yield because I knew that I couldn't pull all of that taffy, as it was I pulled so long and it got so hard that I almost gave myself a blister. I also used a packet of kool-aid instead of the extract and food coloring. I tried the suggestion to use wax paper, which I won't do again, I just lost a bunch of taffy on the paper. I buttered my hands since I didn't butter the pan, and it didn't fall apart, but I didn't butter the pan, so that would explain that. great recipe and I will be making lots and lots of taffy for gifts this christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
super yummy! i over cooked it accidently so it was crunchy like hard candy but it was delicious!! i will be using this again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
this did not work for me. It turned out to be a hard candy. I do not think I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It was my first try with any kind of candy recipe and it worked! however, it tastes like butterscoth (which i also like) and is a lot harder than taffy (but not as hard as butterscotch???) Ultimately tasty and a good first try for candy. (i did grease the pan with butter and it worked fine). I used strawberry extract and it doesn't really taste like strawberry much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Taffy's consistency was too "chewy." It was so chewy in fact that we couldn't chew it because it was either stuck to our teeth or the roof of our mouths. Not to mention that the flavor was lacking also. I tasted more butter, vanilla and salt than I could the actual flavoring of the batch. FYI-pouring it into a greased baking dish is a BIG mistake and makes for an extremely tough time trying to peel it out. I suggest lining the baking dish with thick wax paper before pouring the mixture into it. Overall, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is a cool, quick recipe that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe, but the taffy was quite a bit harder than I wanted it to be. I did drop a small amount of the mixture at soft ball (235F - 133 C), hard ball (260F - 127C) and soft crack (275F - 135C). The soft ball sample was very soft and sticky. The hard ball was just about what I would like to see. If I do this one again, I would stop near the hard ball temp. Taste is good, but only 3stars for recipe, as it its.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States