Grandma's Sweet Hubbard Squash Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this recipe because it was the only hubbard squash recipe listed, and I had obtained one randomly. This tastes like a pumpkin pie, if I had to compare it to something. Very tasty! I used 1tsp of cinnamon and .5tsp nutmeg for the apple pie spice. I also used evaporated milk instead of cream, and it turned out fine. Mashing the squash was good enough, I avoid pureeing whenever possible. Nice to see good squash recipes listed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
As most of the reviewers for this one I came about a hubbard squash by inheritance. This is somewhat like a pumpkin pie but its darker and the taste is a bit different. Its not real sweet but sweet enough to be enjoyable. We really liked it. Under the circumstances I inherit another one of the squashes this is the first thing I will make with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Great!!! I made do with the ingredients I had--butternut squash and evaporated milk but it turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is almost exactly like my mom's recipe. She has been making it for years (me, only two but I still think of it as mine). I love this pie. I spice it just like pumpkin pie, and no one can tell the difference until I tell them. We call it pumpkin pie, and this is the only version we make at thanksgiving! I use condensed milk instead of cream, and white sugar instead of brown. It's creamier than pumpkin, which makes it better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
A very lightly sweet, dense, nicely flavored pie. I used evaporated milk to reduce fat and topped it with a sugar free whipped topping. My husband, who isn't a fan of squash and tried it almost reluctantly, really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Someone gave me a hubbard squash from their garden. I was told it made delicious pies. So I was thrilled when I found this recipe. The first time I made the pies. I followed the recipe as stated. Not being very much into sweets myself I was happy with the low sugar content of the pies so I knew they'd be fine for anyone on a low sugar diet (ie grandma). However I am in the South and "WE LOVE OUR SWEETS" so the second time I made them for the "not so low sugar crowd" I put in 2 cups of dark brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. What a crowd pleaser! Great recipe it's really a 2 in 1 recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
LOVED this pie!! This will be my ultimate go-to "pumpkin" pie recipe from now on. The flavor and smooth texture was amazing! I had some buttercup squash that I had previously roasted, mashed, and frozen. Just grabbed a 2 cup bag of squash (thawed, of course), and tossed it in the blender with the rest of the ingredients, just as listed. Buttercup squash is a bit drier and finer textured than regular ol' pumpkin, so this pie had a wonderful smooth texture. Also, buttercup squash is sweeter than most other winter squashes and pumpkins, so I stuck with the 1/2 cup sugar and it was just perfect. Anything more would have been too sweet. The apple pie spice was great in this pie, rather mild and to me it really fits the late summer/early fall season. When I make this pie around Thanksgiving and Christmas, I'll probably use pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm giving this recipe five stars because the reservations I describe are not its fault. This is the first pie I've made from a "raw" squash, always having used canned pumpkin before. I was happy with the result. Flavor and texture were fine (although the pies cracked -- like a cheescake. My "reservations" are simply that the resulting pie is really no better than with the canned stuff! Roasting the squash and extracting the pulp was not all that difficult -- but not as easy as opening a can, for the same results! One change I did make was to substitute a mix of pumpkin-pie spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger) for the called-for apple-pie spice. Although I suspect that apple-pie spice and pumpkin-pie spice are similar, I just could not bring myself to use apple-pie spcies in what is essentially pumpkin pie. I don't recall any reviewers commenting on the spice -- maybe the comments are there (just didnt see 'em). I do wonder if the apple-pie spice would somehow have worked with the hubbard squash in some special way.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My grandma made this pie every year and it was always a hit! very easy to make - and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I was having a meeting with co-workers so I made this the nite before and brought it in for our meeting and it was the rave about. My family also loved it. My husband wants to use this instead of our pumpkin pie receipe we usually use. It has now become one of our family fav's. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States