Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was good, but I couldn't find any mace, so I use nutmeg instead, I mean mace is just the outer coating of nutmeg, so it would taste, and react similar to mace than anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Philp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AgnusDei
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
No baker, just really getting into baking... this cake is wonder & very.easy to make !! :-) I followed recipe then after placing batter in pans l added fresh frozen peaches in one of the cake pans. For the top layer of my cake. Im baking a birthday cake for someone an they love peaches. It turned out really good an moist It did take 5min more longer to bake for the cake batter l added the peaches to- than other, probably be be same time if l would have added fresh or defrosted fruit. I put cream cheese frosting between the cakes, l set the cake with peaches on top. Used chocolate fudge frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was a little concerned over how much sugar this recipe calls for, but I tried it anyway. Should have trusted my instincts. This cake is much too sweet. It was, however, very moist but I had to bake it for 30 minutes longer than what the recipe indicates. Won't be giving this one a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great and gets rave reviews. This time my 14yr old niece helped and was a little rough with the "folding" in of the dry ingredients but the cake turned out perfectly. I added 1TBS of vanilla. It was so moist we ate it straight off the plate without whipped cream! Next time I'll try adding some orange or lemon extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent when I made adjustments recommended by most other reviewers (reduce sugar to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 tsp baking powder, increased vanilla to 2 tsp). Definitely make with 1 pound of butter as this IS a pound cake (thus, the name)! If you don't like a very moist, buttery cake this isn't for you. My family loved it and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow!! This is my grandmother's sour cream pound cake recipe too!! It is always a hit at every holiday or get together. I love the flavor the mace brings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieKeen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best I've ever had. Turns our perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States