Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent when I made adjustments recommended by most other reviewers (reduce sugar to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 tsp baking powder, increased vanilla to 2 tsp). Definitely make with 1 pound of butter as this IS a pound cake (thus, the name)! If you don't like a very moist, buttery cake this isn't for you. My family loved it and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow!! This is my grandmother's sour cream pound cake recipe too!! It is always a hit at every holiday or get together. I love the flavor the mace brings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieKeen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best I've ever had. Turns our perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This taste yummy the mace gives it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake was so moist & delicious, I didn't add 1 tsp. of salt, I only used 1/4 tsp & it came out perfect. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Platinum Queen
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The cake comes out to be light and wonderfully flavorful, though I admit I followed one reviewer's suggestion and increased the amount of vanilla by a bit when I found I didn't have mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely the best recipe for pound cake I've ever made. Didn't use mace and made a confection icing with fresh lemon. Outdstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Let me say initially, if a recipe requires this many modifications, I don't hold it as a good recipe for me. However, I did add more vanilla and the baking soda. The top puffed up, separated from the cake, and even though I covered it loosely with foil when I realized it was browning so quickly, it still was crusty and ultimately flaked off the cake. In the end there were dense, unbaked pockets at the bottom. Won't use again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States