Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was a little concerned over how much sugar this recipe calls for, but I tried it anyway. Should have trusted my instincts. This cake is much too sweet. It was, however, very moist but I had to bake it for 30 minutes longer than what the recipe indicates. Won't be giving this one a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great and gets rave reviews. This time my 14yr old niece helped and was a little rough with the "folding" in of the dry ingredients but the cake turned out perfectly. I added 1TBS of vanilla. It was so moist we ate it straight off the plate without whipped cream! Next time I'll try adding some orange or lemon extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent when I made adjustments recommended by most other reviewers (reduce sugar to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 tsp baking powder, increased vanilla to 2 tsp). Definitely make with 1 pound of butter as this IS a pound cake (thus, the name)! If you don't like a very moist, buttery cake this isn't for you. My family loved it and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow!! This is my grandmother's sour cream pound cake recipe too!! It is always a hit at every holiday or get together. I love the flavor the mace brings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieKeen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best I've ever had. Turns our perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This taste yummy the mace gives it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake was so moist & delicious, I didn't add 1 tsp. of salt, I only used 1/4 tsp & it came out perfect. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Platinum Queen
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The cake comes out to be light and wonderfully flavorful, though I admit I followed one reviewer's suggestion and increased the amount of vanilla by a bit when I found I didn't have mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States