Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AgnusDei
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
No baker, just really getting into baking... this cake is wonder & very.easy to make !! :-) I followed recipe then after placing batter in pans l added fresh frozen peaches in one of the cake pans. For the top layer of my cake. Im baking a birthday cake for someone an they love peaches. It turned out really good an moist It did take 5min more longer to bake for the cake batter l added the peaches to- than other, probably be be same time if l would have added fresh or defrosted fruit. I put cream cheese frosting between the cakes, l set the cake with peaches on top. Used chocolate fudge frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was a little concerned over how much sugar this recipe calls for, but I tried it anyway. Should have trusted my instincts. This cake is much too sweet. It was, however, very moist but I had to bake it for 30 minutes longer than what the recipe indicates. Won't be giving this one a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great and gets rave reviews. This time my 14yr old niece helped and was a little rough with the "folding" in of the dry ingredients but the cake turned out perfectly. I added 1TBS of vanilla. It was so moist we ate it straight off the plate without whipped cream! Next time I'll try adding some orange or lemon extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent when I made adjustments recommended by most other reviewers (reduce sugar to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 tsp baking powder, increased vanilla to 2 tsp). Definitely make with 1 pound of butter as this IS a pound cake (thus, the name)! If you don't like a very moist, buttery cake this isn't for you. My family loved it and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow!! This is my grandmother's sour cream pound cake recipe too!! It is always a hit at every holiday or get together. I love the flavor the mace brings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieKeen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best I've ever had. Turns our perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This taste yummy the mace gives it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States