Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Easy to whip together and what results! Moist, buttery and delish. I brought this to a Mother's Day get together with my boyfriend's family, and although other (store bought) desserts were laid out, this pound cake was the one that everyone flocked to. I received RAVE reviews and everyone loved the simple strawberry topping I made to go along with it: two pints of strawberries with 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice. Let the berries sit at room temperature for at least thirty minutes so the sugar dissolves and the natural juices of the berries come out. Spoon some of the juicy berries on a slice of this cake, add a dollop of whip cream, and ta-da! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellasequema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have to say, I was shocked when I tasted this... I did not care for this. I thought I was going to love it. It literally tasted like I was biting into a stick of butter. I was so disappointed, and a little embarrassed - I made it for a group of friends, and I could tell no one liked it! I followed the recipe exactly... sorry, but this is the first time ever that I have to rate a recipe this low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is great! Came across this tonite and whipped it up. I followed the directions exactly. I did make sure that my butter and sugar were creamed well and beat quite a bit after adding the eggs. I added the dry ingredients by hand and then folded in the sour cream. I would rate this up there with a slice of pound cake you would get at a high end bakery. Just great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
awesome recipe, everyone at work loved it. not dry at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROUNYDGRL1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
this cake rose but sunk a bit in the middle. as suggested by some,i added baking pwd 1/4 tsp, 3 tsp vanilla, and whipped the heck out of the butter/sugar, folding flour by hand, and decreased the baking temp to 325. the cake rose but sank in the middle, the crumb was fairly hard, and the color of the cake was dingy-yellow and kind of translucent inside but nice and golden on the outside. the recipe Does have more butter per flour than most pound cake recipes and so the flour may have been too saturated. the flavor was good but couldn't thoroughly enjoy due to the hard crumb. (i used organic gold medal ap flour which works well for all my other recipes. so i think this recipe really needs to be made with Cake flour to hold on to all that butter and sugar, And i will alt. adding the flour/sugar to get this cake more yellow, softer, and rounded in the middle. i'll give one more try like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I'm pregnant and I was craving pound cake - odd i know - so I came to look up a good recipe. This was perfect. I didn't have mace so I substituted all spice. You can barely tell it's there but it does add a little something. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly, cooking time and all, and it came out perfectly. Perfect texture, perfect flavor. I think I'm going to eat the whole thing... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I used 3 T. of lime juice instead of mace for a little bit of tangyness... WOW! I also increased the vanilla to 2 t. and added 1/2 t. of almond extract. Finally, I poured a light citrus glaze over the top. Perfect, perfect! Simple Citrus Glaze: 1 T. soft butter, 1 c. powdered sugar, 1 T. + 1 1/2 t. lime, lemon, or orange juice. Drizzle over hot cake and serve immediately! ***UPDATE: I stirred in 3 large sliced fresh peaches for a beautiful peach pound cake. It was incredibly moist and peachy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
OMG, This was soooooo goood. It came out perfect(i did put a little tooooo much vanilla,).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki The Great

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
PERFECT!!! I had never made a pound cake before, and was a little nervous about this recipe since many of the reviewers changed the ingredients, but for the first try I decided just to follow the recipe. I'm so glad I did! The finished product was absolutely perfect. Moist yet not crumbly, just as a pound cake should be. The sweetness was just right. I made this for Easter dessert to use for strawberry shortcake. The cake was so good by itself that I find myself sneaking pieces without even putting any strawberry topping on them! :) My husband loves pound cake and says that this recipe is a keeper. I did use nutmeg instead of mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Sooo good! Next time, i'll cut the sugar to 2 cups. I used nutmeg instead of mace (FYI, mace is the ground nutmeg shell, so you can just substitute) and I used two loaf pans instead of a bundt pan. I followed other user's suggestions, and beat the butter/sugar/eggs until fluffly, and folded in the flour mixture by hand. I'll be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States