Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out beautifully. I made a few modifications by omitting the mace, doubling the vanilla and adding 1 tsp of lemon extract. I also lowered the temperature 25 degrees. The cake was golden yellow without a crust and very moist. I would recommend using lemon zest instead of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I ended up using yogurt instead of sour cream due to what I had in my fridge, but I will definitely try again with sour cream. I should have cut back the backing time just a tad to keep it a little less crusty, but it was delicious and I had no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This pound cake was great. I've been searching for a good sour cream pound cake recipe for a long time and I think I've found it. I always cut back the baking time to be safe and then I add more if it needs it. I baked only for an hour, poked it 20 times with toothpicks, and every single one came out clean. However, after cooling and putting on a plate, it was still underdone! So, next time I will bake for 1 hour and ten minutes. I also baked at 325, cut back the sugar to 2.5 cups, and added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. Ran out of mace, so omitted it. Tastes really good with fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I have never found a better old fashioned sour cream pound cake recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I prepared this cake for dessert for my family last night. We had it w/ BB homemade vanilla ice cream and it was absolutely divine! I woke up this morning w/ it on my mind and decided to bring some to the office to have w/ coffee. Well, I must say that it is EVEN BETTER today. This is an incredibly wonderful recipe that reminds me of being a little girl and eating the cakes the deaconesses would bring to church for Sunday evening services. The only thing I did different was bake chopped pecans into the top of it, omitting the powdered sugar. Thank you for a great, old fashioned recipe! It will be the one I use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
i cut the butter in half an didn't use the mace baked at 325 degrees turned out great.... started checking after one hour for the proper baking time turned out greatwith a good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Absolutely delicious! This is the first time I ever made pound cake, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Diekhoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent! I've tried another pound cake recipe from here, and this is by far the best. It really has that "fresh from grandma's" taste. I only had 1 cup of butter (actually olive oil spread) in the fridge, so that's what I used. Also, I had no mace, so just added a touch of cinnamon. It came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This pound cake was incredible! I would recommend this to anyone. I took this to a church function and it was gobbled up. I did add some lemon extract as well as vanilla Gotta try this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo_g

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States