Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was really, really good! I'm not a big lover of pound cakes, but this with homeade whipped cream and fresh berries was fabulous! Received lots of compliments. I did bake at 325 and added 2x the vanilla extract. The only thing I may change next time is to add more mace. I'm not sure a pinch did much. I couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Definitely a great recipie. The cake is delicious and creamy, and has a sweet taste despite the large amount of sour cream in it. The only problem with the cake is that it doesn't last very long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Absolutely fantastic recipe. I think the pinch of mace really makes it. I've made this five times and the only thing I do that is different is I substitute one cup of self rising flour for one cup of flour that's called for in the recipe and it comes out phenominal. In other words I do 1 cup of self rising flour and 2 cups regular flour. Still dense but deliciously perfect. I like use vanilla bean also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe hasn't been reviewed in a long time, and I thought it definitely deserved a 5-star update! I baked in an angel food cake tube pan and it was beautiful and delicious. It had a slightly crunchy top which was perfect. I served it with fruit (from the Summery Lime-Mango Shortcakes Recipe on this site) and home-made whipped cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I had to share this with my neighbors... because my fiance forced me to!! Frankly, I wished I hadn't because there wasn't enough of this to go around. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sim1Says

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Me and my husband made this last night and as the saying goes "It's so good it makes you wanna slap your momma!" Never had a pound cake that called for mace but it gave it a really nice flavor! We followed the recipe to the T and made no substitutions even after reading the reviews! You can't please everybody i guess! My husband took some to work and his co-workers loved it! The only thing that was kind of weird was that while it was still warm it had kind of a cornbread taste to it but it went away once it completely cooled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Von

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is the best pound cake ever! Easy to put together, just follow instructions. I didn't have mace, so I just doubled the vanilla ( I use vanilla bean paste). We are having Strawberry Shortcake for desert tonight, but this is so good I may eat my strawberries and cream, and have my cake on it's own! I did make a small loaf with the extra batter, it was too much for my bundt pan. Oh well, I guess I just got a bonus cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justroom42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Dover, Florida, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I didn't have any mace so I left that out. I followed some of the others advice and increased the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp and baked at 325. That was all of the changes I made, which wasn't a lot. It turned out perfect. I was a little worried it would spill over because I filled my pan all the way to the top, but it didn't. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was so easy and tasted wonderful. The only changes is i sifted the flour and i did turn the temp down to 325 the last 30 minutes. Turned our great. This one is a keeper and will be made over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I dont cook much but I was in the mood and my Mother-In-Law was coming for the holidays and I wanted to bake something. I found this recipe and made this cake. I read the reviews and the modifactions that others suggested, such as leaving out the mace, adding more vanilla and mixing for at least 10 minutes. My husband and in-laws are excellent cooks and picky eaters....they LOVED this cake and ate it ALL. My mother-in-law even asked me for the recipe! AWESOME cake! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States