Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!! This is a top hit! It is wonderful with a lemon glaze. I also used this for a Up-side Down Pineapple cake and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
THE BEST SOUR CREAM POUND CAKE I'VE TASTED. SO FOLLOW INSTRUCTION TO THE LETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuno
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have my own recipe for pound cake. This is a very good recipe for pound cake. I tweeked it some. I only put in one cup of butter and one cup of Crisco instead of two cups butter. I also added half tsp of almond and half tsp of butter extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This pound cake recipe is awesome! It's moist and desnse just like a pound cake should be. I omitted the mace and added more vainilla. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes as suggested and it turned out perfect! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake was very,very moist, but the texture was not very fine-grained. I'm not sure whether I am the culprit or the tremendous amount of butter in the recipe is the culprit.....but, 2 lbs is a LOT of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Recipe as written has too much butter. I should have read through comments and reduce amount of sugar and butter. I'll try with some of the recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have been trying several different recipes over the past few months to find a good pound cake...this is it..stays so moist, not that it last long enough to get dried out...simple, and scrumptous...5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent cake. Moist and wasy to bake. I did cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 Cups. Thought it was a bit too sweet. That's my personal taste. Cake is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie McFadden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
THIS CAKE WAS FABULOUS. I ALWAYS READ THE REVIEWS AND TAKE THEM INTO CONSIDERATION BEFORE USING THE RECIPE. THE ONLY THING I DID WAS TO LOWER THE OVEN TEMP. TO 325 BECAUSE THE BATTER WAS SO THICK. I USED A BUNDT PAN AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT. THIS IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER AND I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for Christmas... Everyone loved it!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzMocha82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States