Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe many time, and I tried the other pound cake to. But always back to this cake. I'm using this cake for my carving cake. It sturdy and dense. I read someone said, she experience baker and said it suppose to use half size the butter. Okay, now I asked you..."why people call this pound cake ?" This is almost the original recipe my husband's grandma bake. She bake without baking soda or baking powder. I added baking powder a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhuangpopo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
the taste was good. I added lemon rind and no mace. but there was too much butter. It was not moist, it was greasy. A real shame. I will try it again with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!! This is a top hit! It is wonderful with a lemon glaze. I also used this for a Up-side Down Pineapple cake and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
THE BEST SOUR CREAM POUND CAKE I'VE TASTED. SO FOLLOW INSTRUCTION TO THE LETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have my own recipe for pound cake. This is a very good recipe for pound cake. I tweeked it some. I only put in one cup of butter and one cup of Crisco instead of two cups butter. I also added half tsp of almond and half tsp of butter extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This pound cake recipe is awesome! It's moist and desnse just like a pound cake should be. I omitted the mace and added more vainilla. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes as suggested and it turned out perfect! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake was very,very moist, but the texture was not very fine-grained. I'm not sure whether I am the culprit or the tremendous amount of butter in the recipe is the culprit.....but, 2 lbs is a LOT of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Recipe as written has too much butter. I should have read through comments and reduce amount of sugar and butter. I'll try with some of the recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have been trying several different recipes over the past few months to find a good pound cake...this is it..stays so moist, not that it last long enough to get dried out...simple, and scrumptous...5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent cake. Moist and wasy to bake. I did cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 Cups. Thought it was a bit too sweet. That's my personal taste. Cake is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie McFadden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States