Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is the best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Awesome! This has become a staple for birthday parties and holidays. My family raves about this recipe. The only thing I do differently is to omit the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make this cake (at the request of my family) EVERY Thanksgiving & Christmas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
First of all, this makes A LOT of cake. I made it per the recipe but cut butter to 1 3/4 cups, cut sugar to 1 1/4 cups, added a touch more vanilla, used no mace, and added about 1/4 cup of pinapple juice as I was making upside down cake. I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. I baked at 325 and used a sheet pan. Cake took a little over 2 hours to fully bake. And the cake is PHENOMENAL. Awesome, moist, perfect crumb, light, fluffy, buttery, just delicious. This is a keeper, but I think I'll cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I modify this into a RUM cake by adding a tablespoon of red rum and rum flavoring. I left out the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I had heard about sour cream pound cake and I wanted to create a cake from scratch. I read some reviews and made a couple of adjustments. I didn't have 2 cups of butter so I used 1 1/2 cups (really that was all I had...lol) and I didn't have mace. I bumped up the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. I followed the instructions and my cake turned out great. My oven was too hot at 350 degrees and I almost burnt my cake...325 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Grandma you did good, this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Awesome cake it was gone in a flash, everyone raved about it, my one year old Granddaughter who shares everything with her Daddy cradled her piece in her arms and stuffed it in her mouth! So easy even a novice baker can impress
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I've tried hundreds of pound cake recipes over the years looking for the perfect cake. This one is it. (OK, I don't use mace in it.) Every now and then I'll try another recipe, but the cake never measures up to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe many time, and I tried the other pound cake to. But always back to this cake. I'm using this cake for my carving cake. It sturdy and dense. I read someone said, she experience baker and said it suppose to use half size the butter. Okay, now I asked you..."why people call this pound cake ?" This is almost the original recipe my husband's grandma bake. She bake without baking soda or baking powder. I added baking powder a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhuangpopo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States