Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
First of all, this makes A LOT of cake. I made it per the recipe but cut butter to 1 3/4 cups, cut sugar to 1 1/4 cups, added a touch more vanilla, used no mace, and added about 1/4 cup of pinapple juice as I was making upside down cake. I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. I baked at 325 and used a sheet pan. Cake took a little over 2 hours to fully bake. And the cake is PHENOMENAL. Awesome, moist, perfect crumb, light, fluffy, buttery, just delicious. This is a keeper, but I think I'll cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I modify this into a RUM cake by adding a tablespoon of red rum and rum flavoring. I left out the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I had heard about sour cream pound cake and I wanted to create a cake from scratch. I read some reviews and made a couple of adjustments. I didn't have 2 cups of butter so I used 1 1/2 cups (really that was all I had...lol) and I didn't have mace. I bumped up the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. I followed the instructions and my cake turned out great. My oven was too hot at 350 degrees and I almost burnt my cake...325 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Grandma you did good, this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Awesome cake it was gone in a flash, everyone raved about it, my one year old Granddaughter who shares everything with her Daddy cradled her piece in her arms and stuffed it in her mouth! So easy even a novice baker can impress
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I've tried hundreds of pound cake recipes over the years looking for the perfect cake. This one is it. (OK, I don't use mace in it.) Every now and then I'll try another recipe, but the cake never measures up to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe many time, and I tried the other pound cake to. But always back to this cake. I'm using this cake for my carving cake. It sturdy and dense. I read someone said, she experience baker and said it suppose to use half size the butter. Okay, now I asked you..."why people call this pound cake ?" This is almost the original recipe my husband's grandma bake. She bake without baking soda or baking powder. I added baking powder a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhuangpopo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
the taste was good. I added lemon rind and no mace. but there was too much butter. It was not moist, it was greasy. A real shame. I will try it again with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I've made this cake a couple times and I love it every time I make it. I do omit the made. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!! This is a top hit! It is wonderful with a lemon glaze. I also used this for a Up-side Down Pineapple cake and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States