Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent Cake!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and have received several requests to make this again! I used egg substitute, 2 sticks of light butter and 1 stick of regular butter, fat-free sour cream--Very Moist, Very Moist!! Also, I used a lemon glaze instead of the recommended powdered sugar. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Oh my what a wonderful pound cake recipe. I followed the hints of the previous reviews and it turned out wonderfully. I didnt use the mace, I added a touch of nutmeg and used 2 tsp of vanilla as i was out of my good vanilla. This is a keeper, I have made it twice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This cake is amazing! I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it. I did not have mace so I omitted it. I have requests from my parents and aunts and uncles to make this again! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Awesome cake recipe though I was a little disappointed at first when the cake was a lot lighter than I thought it should be. Pound cakes are traditionally quite dense but this one wasn't. However I did use cake flour instead of AP so that may have had something to do with it. Also I found that after it has completely cooled and sat for a bit, it firms up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
this cake is a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Amazing! The only chnage I made was substituting zest of one lemon for the mace. That lemon zest gave so much fresh, light citrusy flavor. I made it on a Wednesday for a Thursday and it was good, but I had the leftovers for another event Saturday and it was even better - it got even more moist! It continued to get more moist throughout the week and even a full 10 days later, was absolutely moist and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
this pound cake was perfect,ive never made a pound cake before, i didnt have any mace so i omitted that,used a little less butter and sugar about 2.5 cups sugar and 1.5 cups butter, cooked at 350 for about a hr and 5 min, it was moist and tasty, def a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is an excellent pound cake recipe. I served this with sliced strawberries and whipped cream - a perfect dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe! Great cake! It was dense as pound cake should be, but not heavy at all. This was my first attempt at making a pound cake and it came out perfect! I used three sticks of butter, egg substitute, fat free sour cream, omitted the mace, used the zest and juice of one lemon, 1 3/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. I followed the advice of other viewers and beat the sugar and butter for seven minutes. I mixed for one minute after the addition of each egg. I folded in the flour mixture and sour cream and I was very careful not to over work the batter, so that the cake would not be tough. This is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This tastes just like my grandmas wonderful pound cake. My family doesn't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States