Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This cake is delicious. I halved the recipes and followed MommyfromSeattle's advice. I did not add mace but added blueberries. Yummy!!! I finally found a pound cake that I can bake successfully. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is amazing poundcake, I love it. I added 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, upped the vanilla to 1 1/2 teaspoons, and decreased the sugar to 2 1/2 cups as some reviewers suggested. I think I am going to go to 3 cups sugar. I am doing the following 2 variations this week for a party: 1. Lemon: I am resplacing the sour cream with lemon yogurt and adding the zest of one lemon and a couple TBS of the lemon's juice. 2. Chocolate Marble: I intend to separate out 1/3 of the batter and blend in some Hershey's syrup. Then put regular batter, then chocolate batter, then regular batter, and swirl it up with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this recipe using the modifications from the other reviews and it turned out AWESOME!!!! We're only a family of three so I divided the recipe in 2 and made a small bundt cake. My Husband and Son loves it. This is our new family recipe for pound cake. Please thank your Grandma for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
this was the best pound cake ever. very moist, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was excellent. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! I was trying to duplicate the pound cake that my parent's neighbor gives them every Christmas - the perfect pound cake in my book - and this is it! I did change one thing: I omitted the mace entirely and instead used the zest of one lemon. Watch the cooking time on this - it only needed 1 hr. 10 min. in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Excellent! Very moist. I did add an additional tsp of Vanilla because I like a lot of flavor. Be sure to bake at 325 instead of 350 as well. This will be my primary recipe for pound cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This cake was so great, my non-pound-cake-eating husband converted. He loved it!! I cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and since I didn't own mace (nor do I know what it is) I didn't use it. Tastes yummy with sweetened strawberries. Warning: Make sure you have a deep bundt pan. Mine ended up overflowing. It still looked great after some trimming (Lol).I will keep this recipe forvever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this exactly as stated but did cook at 325 and it was EXCELLENT....went perfectly w/strawberries and whipped cream...will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this cake for husband - who is the ultimate pound cake critic and he loved it. I will definitely share this recipe and keep making it for generations to come. I ran into the same problem as some of the other reviewers - with it browning too quickly so I think I will lower the heat to 325 next time and watch it during the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States