Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this recipe using the modifications from the other reviews and it turned out AWESOME!!!! We're only a family of three so I divided the recipe in 2 and made a small bundt cake. My Husband and Son loves it. This is our new family recipe for pound cake. Please thank your Grandma for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
this was the best pound cake ever. very moist, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was excellent. And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! I was trying to duplicate the pound cake that my parent's neighbor gives them every Christmas - the perfect pound cake in my book - and this is it! I did change one thing: I omitted the mace entirely and instead used the zest of one lemon. Watch the cooking time on this - it only needed 1 hr. 10 min. in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Excellent! Very moist. I did add an additional tsp of Vanilla because I like a lot of flavor. Be sure to bake at 325 instead of 350 as well. This will be my primary recipe for pound cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This cake was so great, my non-pound-cake-eating husband converted. He loved it!! I cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and since I didn't own mace (nor do I know what it is) I didn't use it. Tastes yummy with sweetened strawberries. Warning: Make sure you have a deep bundt pan. Mine ended up overflowing. It still looked great after some trimming (Lol).I will keep this recipe forvever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this exactly as stated but did cook at 325 and it was EXCELLENT....went perfectly w/strawberries and whipped cream...will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this cake for husband - who is the ultimate pound cake critic and he loved it. I will definitely share this recipe and keep making it for generations to come. I ran into the same problem as some of the other reviewers - with it browning too quickly so I think I will lower the heat to 325 next time and watch it during the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Soo good and I'm not even a pound cake lover..at least not until now. Family loved it, except my son, the butter minimalist, but even he had several slices - so he didn't love it but he sure liked it a great deal! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent Cake!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and have received several requests to make this again! I used egg substitute, 2 sticks of light butter and 1 stick of regular butter, fat-free sour cream--Very Moist, Very Moist!! Also, I used a lemon glaze instead of the recommended powdered sugar. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States