Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious - my co-workers went crazy over this. They have already asked me to make it again for an upcoming luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
OK THIS CAKE TASTED VERY GOOD BUT IT NEVER COOKED COMPLETELY THROUGH IN THE MIDDLE I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY AND COOKED IT FOR LONGER THAN IT SAID AND STILL WHEN I TURNED IT ONTO A PLATE THE MIDDLE WAS ALL LIQUID BATTER THAT DIDN'T COOK SO NOW i'M LEFT WITH A SHELL OF A CAKE CAN SOMEONE WHO HAS MADE THIS PLEASE TELL ME WHAT HAPPENED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I baked mine in a tube pan and it took exactly the time it said on the recipe. You definitely need to "make" time for this cake with the preparation and bake time and I did mine with a Kitchen Aid but the killer is really the 1-1/2 hour bake time! I used 2-3/4 cups of sugar and the cake was sweet enough but the next time, I'll add a little more sugar because I think it can be a little sweeter--not exactly 3 cups but close to it. So, I ate a piece when it was still warm and I have to say I wasn't crazy about it--I wasn't sure if I will make it again. I love pound cake but I thought the taste was kind of boring and nothing special. But then, I had a piece this morning and it was very very good! The texture is valvety and it has a crunchy crust. I haven't put any powdered sugar or icing on it but I will when I get home. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I've been baking for almost 3 years and of the many pound cake recipes I've tried, this is by far my family's favourite. My husband says it's possibly the best cake I've ever made. My sister-in-law says she likes it the best. The sour cream made it moist yet kept it light and not too dense. The only thing I might try different next time is to use 2 1/2 cups sugar instead since I personally found it a tad bit too sweet. Overall a wonderful pound cake that is a keeper and a new family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vlin28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Amazing! Hands down the best pound cake I have ever had. I didn't have a bundt or tube pan, so I divided the batter between an 8" cake pan and a loaf pan and baked it for about an hour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollowayb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was my first pound cake and it was really good. Family enjoyed it as well. I didn't do any glaze since it was sweet and tasty as is. Made two loaves and they were both gone between 4 people in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
What a delicious Cake! It's moist, tasty and irresistable. Thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have looked for a pound cake recipe that I could actually make without it coming out like a sponge for a while. This one is really good. Just do not over work the flour mixture. I think that is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I was very pleased with this recipe. It gave me a cake that had a good texture and taste. I did make two technical adjustments and one based on personal preference. I added the 1/4 tsp. baking powder mentioned by other reviewers, and I added 3 Tbsp vanilla because mine is weak (if you have stronger extracts, this would probably be too much. I like a more pronounced vanilla flavor). After reading how quickly this cake browned at 350, I decided to try starting it in a cold oven. I set it to 325 after the pan was in place and did not open the door for 60 minutes. It rose well and browned golden, not dark, with a nice crust, taking a total of 70 minutes. The recipe didn't specify type of butter, so I used 2 sticks salted and 2 sticks unsalted; the full 3 cups of sugar; and 1/4 teaspoon mace. I use Baker's Joy Spray in my pan, and it popped out easily and intact. After it was cool, I brushed it with a glaze made of softened cream cheese, unsalted butter, half and half, glazing sugar, and vanilla and lemon extracts. This does make a large amount of thick batter, so make sure you have a true 12 cup Bundt pan, use a larger Angel-food type pan, or plan on making a second smaller cake that will have to come out of the oven sooner. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This cake is delicious. I halved the recipes and followed MommyfromSeattle's advice. I did not add mace but added blueberries. Yummy!!! I finally found a pound cake that I can bake successfully. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States