Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
YUM!! Ive made this 3 times in the past week to perfect it. Here's what I've come up with. I used cake flour, and sifted it 3 times. I beat the butter and sugar for 5 minutes, then once all the eggs were added, beat it for another 5 minutes. And don't overmix the flour. These are the secrets to a perfect texture pound cake. Instead of sour cream, I used heavy whipping cream. Very moist, and has a lovely crust. My family's favorite. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Mmmm! Wonderful! I'm not a great baker, but this turned out perfect. Instead of mace, I used 1 tbsp vanilla. And I beat the sugar, butter and eggs a lot. Crispy on the outside, moist and wonderful on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
What a great cake! I made it for my visiting daughter and her family and they loved it. The five-year-old wanted it every morning for breakfast. I served it the first night of their visit with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. I added 1/2 more teaspoon vanilla and left out the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEG
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I used this recipe in a cupcake mold for my daughter's first birthday (photo posted). It was outstanding - flavorful and moist. Everyone really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Excellent. Crisp crust, moist inside, not too sweet. A very traditional pound cake, and best prepared a day before serving. Given the density of the ingredients, it needs that time to firm up, and the crust of the cake seals the moisture in. Anyone looking for a really pronounced sweetness or strong flavor may not be happy with this. It's great to serve with some fresh fruit, or toast it and serve w/some ice cream, etc. Also - I don't stock mace becuase I rarely if ever use it, and it was expensive - $4 for a small jar?!?! I looked at the back of the jar at the store, and it said an equivalent substitution flavor-wise was nutmeg. I think 1 part mace to 3 part nutmeg. Grated some fresh nutmeg with a Microplane, and could barely tell it was there in the finished product. That said, you could probably sweeten and/or spice this up with some extra sugar, vanilla, lemon/orange zest/extract if you dig that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I have made this pound cake many, many, times and it always turns out great. I have friends who ask for this cake as a birthday present. It it so moist and talk about comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uwontforgtme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Yum. I wanted to make a pound cake for my mother in law. She was impressed which is always a good thing. I followed the recipe except I didn't have mace. I also added about a 1/2 tsp more vanilla for flavor. Baked in a bundt pan for the time stated was perfect although I did cover it with foil for the last 15 minutes so it wouldn't get to dark. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much! Left out the mace, replaced with grated lemon rind and made a lemon icing sugar glaze. The cake was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious - my co-workers went crazy over this. They have already asked me to make it again for an upcoming luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
OK THIS CAKE TASTED VERY GOOD BUT IT NEVER COOKED COMPLETELY THROUGH IN THE MIDDLE I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY AND COOKED IT FOR LONGER THAN IT SAID AND STILL WHEN I TURNED IT ONTO A PLATE THE MIDDLE WAS ALL LIQUID BATTER THAT DIDN'T COOK SO NOW i'M LEFT WITH A SHELL OF A CAKE CAN SOMEONE WHO HAS MADE THIS PLEASE TELL ME WHAT HAPPENED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States