Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Sooo good! Next time, i'll cut the sugar to 2 cups. I used nutmeg instead of mace (FYI, mace is the ground nutmeg shell, so you can just substitute) and I used two loaf pans instead of a bundt pan. I followed other user's suggestions, and beat the butter/sugar/eggs until fluffly, and folded in the flour mixture by hand. I'll be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I used only 1 1/2c butter and 2c sugar (suit my taste), skipped the ground mace. Great! Next time, I'll try 2c butter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This cake is good, but it was not as moist as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
YUM!! Ive made this 3 times in the past week to perfect it. Here's what I've come up with. I used cake flour, and sifted it 3 times. I beat the butter and sugar for 5 minutes, then once all the eggs were added, beat it for another 5 minutes. And don't overmix the flour. These are the secrets to a perfect texture pound cake. Instead of sour cream, I used heavy whipping cream. Very moist, and has a lovely crust. My family's favorite. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Mmmm! Wonderful! I'm not a great baker, but this turned out perfect. Instead of mace, I used 1 tbsp vanilla. And I beat the sugar, butter and eggs a lot. Crispy on the outside, moist and wonderful on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
What a great cake! I made it for my visiting daughter and her family and they loved it. The five-year-old wanted it every morning for breakfast. I served it the first night of their visit with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. I added 1/2 more teaspoon vanilla and left out the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEG
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I used this recipe in a cupcake mold for my daughter's first birthday (photo posted). It was outstanding - flavorful and moist. Everyone really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Excellent. Crisp crust, moist inside, not too sweet. A very traditional pound cake, and best prepared a day before serving. Given the density of the ingredients, it needs that time to firm up, and the crust of the cake seals the moisture in. Anyone looking for a really pronounced sweetness or strong flavor may not be happy with this. It's great to serve with some fresh fruit, or toast it and serve w/some ice cream, etc. Also - I don't stock mace becuase I rarely if ever use it, and it was expensive - $4 for a small jar?!?! I looked at the back of the jar at the store, and it said an equivalent substitution flavor-wise was nutmeg. I think 1 part mace to 3 part nutmeg. Grated some fresh nutmeg with a Microplane, and could barely tell it was there in the finished product. That said, you could probably sweeten and/or spice this up with some extra sugar, vanilla, lemon/orange zest/extract if you dig that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I have made this pound cake many, many, times and it always turns out great. I have friends who ask for this cake as a birthday present. It it so moist and talk about comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uwontforgtme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Yum. I wanted to make a pound cake for my mother in law. She was impressed which is always a good thing. I followed the recipe except I didn't have mace. I also added about a 1/2 tsp more vanilla for flavor. Baked in a bundt pan for the time stated was perfect although I did cover it with foil for the last 15 minutes so it wouldn't get to dark. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States