Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Baking powder? It aint a pound cake. Its a regular yellow cake. With way too much butter in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was my very first attempt at a pound cake. It was so easy! I had heard that pound cakes were hard, aggravating. Not this one. It tasted just like I remember my "Grandma's" tasting. It was buttery, moist, and had a soft texture. My husband said to definitely remember this one. I would recommend this one for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My first time ever baking a cake without the help of Dunkin Hines and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was good, but I couldn't find any mace, so I use nutmeg instead, I mean mace is just the outer coating of nutmeg, so it would taste, and react similar to mace than anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Philp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AgnusDei
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
No baker, just really getting into baking... this cake is wonder & very.easy to make !! :-) I followed recipe then after placing batter in pans l added fresh frozen peaches in one of the cake pans. For the top layer of my cake. Im baking a birthday cake for someone an they love peaches. It turned out really good an moist It did take 5min more longer to bake for the cake batter l added the peaches to- than other, probably be be same time if l would have added fresh or defrosted fruit. I put cream cheese frosting between the cakes, l set the cake with peaches on top. Used chocolate fudge frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was a little concerned over how much sugar this recipe calls for, but I tried it anyway. Should have trusted my instincts. This cake is much too sweet. It was, however, very moist but I had to bake it for 30 minutes longer than what the recipe indicates. Won't be giving this one a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great and gets rave reviews. This time my 14yr old niece helped and was a little rough with the "folding" in of the dry ingredients but the cake turned out perfectly. I added 1TBS of vanilla. It was so moist we ate it straight off the plate without whipped cream! Next time I'll try adding some orange or lemon extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States