Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Pretty good, added chipotle chili flakes to give it some more cook. Make sure you dice the onions small. Makes a great dip for corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Palevski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made this at least 4 times now and love it. The only things I do different is use fire-roasted tomatoes in lieu of regular and add one whole red pepper. this is so good and hearty. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made it for a group of friends for lunch today (freezing cold day here), it was delicious. Since I couldn't find black bean soup I pureed a can of drained black beans in my blender with 1/3 cup salsa and a bit of lemon juice, that worked fine. The vegetables stayed a little crunchy after 4 hours in the slow cooker, which made a delicious contrast to the soft beans. The spice was just right, I had been worried it might be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Excellent recipe! Was the hit of a 45 person pot luck. Worthy of note for those who use the shopping list function: After saving recipe to shopping list and editing for foods already in pantry, I noticed vegetarian baked beans on recipe were transferred to shopping list as baked beans (thus adding the pork component back into a truly vegetarian dish). Further, as my son helped in the kitchen he did not realize any of the "drained" notations and, instead, dumped all beans in undrained. Figured it was still edible so we went with it. Lastly, as I found I was missing the chili powder I thought I had in the pantry, I substituted one teaspoon each of the following: Chipotle chile pepper; ancho chile pepper; and cayenne pepper. Made a second pot after pot luck and froze it immediately. Been eating this dish as quick lunches for nearly two months now. Still tastes as good as the first batch. Am entering the dish (my original version listed herein) in a chile cookoff this weekend. Will update results in a future post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef's delight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe was pretty decent, but it came out a bit bland. Since I used low/no sodium products, I decided to add rock salt to the recipe to add some taste. I also replaced the kidney beans for pinto beans due to the higher quality of protein in pinto beans. I cooked it for a lot longer, 6 hours on slow. IMO this dish would make for a good DASH recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Minhas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Lovely! My family really enjoyed this meal. I used dried black beans and cooked them in a pressure cooker with the peppers, onions and water for about 50 mins, then added the rest of the ingredients, as I do not live in the states, and I could not find black bean soup. Just one word of caution for those of you cooking outside of the states, the chili powder might not be the same, I used 1/2 tbl spoon of Indian chili powder and it turned out pretty spicy, so I would add 1 tsp at a time. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a hit. Everyone loved it, from the kids to the wife. A few minor changes, I could not find chopped tomatos in puree so I used diced tomatos in juice and added a 28oz can of puree. We cooked it on high for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Make this all year long. Meat eaters enjoy it as well. I leave out the black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Eaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this recipe just like it says, but I added chopped fresh mushrooms. After it was done I topped it with a spoonful of sour cream and some cheddar cheese. Mmmmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I'm not a big fan of chili and this was the best I've tried. I make different recipes for Vegetarian chili often. I loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States