Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This gets a thumbs down from me (sorry!). My dad is helping my husband cut trimwork today, so I made lunch for them. Because my pops is on a heart-restrictive diet, I was leaning toward a healthy, non-fat meal. Between the three of us, my dad is the only one who liked this enough to have a second helping. Surprisingly enough, my "bean hating" husband liked this too, but it's unlikely he would jump out of his seat to eat it again. I couldn't even stomach more than two mouthfuls. To be fair, I am awarding 3 stars simply because the opinions on this were so divided. For me, there were two glaring problems with this. For one, all of my veggies were crunchy (they could stand to slow cook MUCH longer than 2 hours). My main complaint however, is that I felt something was missing and was constantly reminded of this after every bite. I guess I have conditioned myself to only like traditional chili with beef.... Since my dad thought this was fantastic, he's getting all the leftovers lol! If for nothing other than finding a healthy chili my dad can enjoy, this wasn't a complete waste of effort. :) Thanks anyways, sellitman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I made this for a Soup Cook-off at work and won first place! So many people asked me for the recipe and commented on how good it was. I am not a cook so this was really all about the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Pretty good, I changed a bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Love this recipe! I made it for myself and I freeze it because my BF won't eat beans so I get them all at once. Changes include: Just used a can of black beans. Used Ranch Style Jalapeno baked beans and then added a can of tomato soup and a can of water plus some Tabasco sauce to spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I like that this recipe is very adaptable. I don't care for green pepper so substitute red pepper. Today added a yellow pepper because I was out of corn. Substituted celery seed for celery (my fridge froze my celery). Also also reconstituted some dehydrated mushrooms and added them. I rarely have vegetarian baked beans so just use navy or great northern and add some ketchup, yellow mustard and brown sugar. If I don't have black bean soup on hand, I just put the drained beans in my bullet blender with a little water and cumin powder, then add to crock pot after blended. It seems you can play around with whatever vegetables that suit your taste or have on hand. I've added carrots in the past too. Garnishes I like, shredded cheddar, chopped red onion and Greek yogurt (or sour cream). This has always been a hit with everyone I serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Let me start by saying this does need more seasoning than the recipe indicates. However, It is really good! It's very fresh tasting and lighter than most chili recipes. I love that you don't feel gross after eating it - you can actually taste the beans and corn. I followed the recipe, but also added more chili powder, lots of salt and pepper, a bit of cayenne and hot sauce for heat and I cooked it for 4 hours. I also added fresh parsley on top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMU3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is the first Allrecipes recipe that I have tried. It was sooo easy, yummy and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was just OK to me. It was too sweet for my tastes and I like sweet stuff. I was able to find Black Bean Soup at Trader Joes for everyone who was having a problem finding it. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great taste and healthy, one of our staples. I put 2 cans of diced tomatoes - for me one is not enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States