Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very very good. Great flavor. To find the Black Bean Soup, try the organic section of your store. I also added one can of black beans, just because I thought iti needed more beans. All in all delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigchuckles44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is the recipe I used to "learn" how to make chili. Now I make it a little different, but I'll still give credit to this recipe for getting me started! I use 2 cans black beans & 1 can kidney beans (no garbanzo or baked beans or soup). Rinse your beans well, but keep juices in everything else. Usually 2 cans diced tomatoes (or diced fresh if I have on hand) instead of the 1 can. I add cumin, tapatio, and a small amount of apple cider vinegar. Slow cooker on low for about 5-6 hours and serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DivaJ
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was my first time making veggie chili and it came out great! I used a slightly bigger size can of baked beans since that's what I had on hand, a can of crushed tomatoes, and no celery. It was very good, but a tad bit sweet so it can also be served as jazzed up baked beans in the summer and chili in fall/winter depending on the sweetness/spiciness. I added a few shakes of red pepper flakes to kick it up a bit. I also served this with vegan hush puppies which were also sweet, so next time I'll add a little more heat to the chili so they compliment each other. Definitely a staple and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This will become a staple for me. This is very filling and everyone that has tried it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! Forgot the corn: not heartbroken. I don't like tomatoes as a general rule so I used only puree. Instead of black bean soup I used a can of black beans with the juice and added another half cup of water. The vegetable and seasoning proportions worked well. I stopped eating meat eight months ago and sometimes I really miss it. This satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this recently, and loved how easy it is to throw together. I experimented with various spices. Look forward to making it again over the course of the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLLOOPER

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
The whole familie loved this and we did not miss the meat. I added a bit of tomato sauce to thicken it a bit and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe has yet to fail me. It's easy to tweak (like adding a little more heat) and is great reheated the next day. We in my non-vegetarian house LOVE this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I loved this, my husband thought it was just okay. He thought it needed more flavor. I couldn't find black bean soup, so like other reviewers I just used two cans of black beans. I have a feeling the extra flavor that must be in the soup is what is needed. Also like other reviewers, I didn't use the Italian seasonings but added cumin and cayenne pepper. It was almost a little too spicy for me, so I'll cut down next time, or just try it with the Italian seasonings. Two hours was definitely not enough cooking time - the onions and peppers were still too crunchy. I think I ended up cooking mine about six hours. I thought it was really tasty and filling, and had some for lunch today and it was even better. Will make this again. Just need to find that soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious, delicious, delicious! Soooooo easy to prepare. A filling meal with some bread on the side. I will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States