Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked it. Doubt I'd make it again though. This recipe made me realize I don't care for a sweet chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I make this recipe about once a month. I love it and everyone else in my house does too. I make the chili vegetarian, but then I brown ground turkey and ground beef so that people who want meat can add meat to their chili. Great for after skiing or a long day. Instead of using regular tomatoes I use Rotel tomatoes and for a little extra kick I use a small can of Hatch chilies, but the recipe is awesome as written. I serve it with low fat shour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi Schwepker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
A really good hearty soup, or maybe even stew, but please don't call it chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Unbelievably good. Fast and easy. Can't wait to taste again tomorrow! Used all ingredients as stated in recipe with the following exceptions: 1) replaced black bean soup with black beans 2) added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes (w/ basil, oregano and garlic) 3) added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (w/ basil, oregano and garlic) instead of 14 oz can of chopped tomato pureed 4) added 2 teaspoons of cajun seasoning 5) added chopped green onions too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Great for a potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is wonderful. My family loves it--including my vegetarian teen son. I call it "Cowboy Stew," though, because it's like the cowboy stews we made at Girl Scout camp. And also, as a Texan, I refuse to call anything with beans in it "chili," as real Texas chili has no beans! I made some moderations. This recipe looked more Italian to me, and I wanted to spice it up. I traded ancho chili, adobo seasoning for the basil and oregano. I used a poblano and a serrano instead of bell peppers. (And once when I made it I added dried jalapenos but did that in place of serrano.) I also added Morningstar Farms Crumbles--not that it needed any more protein. But I wanted to stretch it a bit. this has become a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy McFall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is very forgiving in that you can use vegetables you have on hand and omit things. I did not use the Italian spices and omitted the garlic (my husband can't eat garlic, poor thing). It was fantastic! Next time I will add some diced green chilis for a bit of spicy heat, but the flavor was great. We had it with honey cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was FABULOUS!!! Had to make a number of substitutions but it still came out terrific. My whole family loved it. I served it with whole wheat couscous and a little shredded cheese as a topper. SOOOOO easy!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Surprisingly tasty! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a fun chili to make. It is a tad sweet what with the baked beans. It tasted better with sour cream added to the bowl. I am not sure that I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States