Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe was pretty decent, but it came out a bit bland. Since I used low/no sodium products, I decided to add rock salt to the recipe to add some taste. I also replaced the kidney beans for pinto beans due to the higher quality of protein in pinto beans. I cooked it for a lot longer, 6 hours on slow. IMO this dish would make for a good DASH recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Minhas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Lovely! My family really enjoyed this meal. I used dried black beans and cooked them in a pressure cooker with the peppers, onions and water for about 50 mins, then added the rest of the ingredients, as I do not live in the states, and I could not find black bean soup. Just one word of caution for those of you cooking outside of the states, the chili powder might not be the same, I used 1/2 tbl spoon of Indian chili powder and it turned out pretty spicy, so I would add 1 tsp at a time. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a hit. Everyone loved it, from the kids to the wife. A few minor changes, I could not find chopped tomatos in puree so I used diced tomatos in juice and added a 28oz can of puree. We cooked it on high for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Make this all year long. Meat eaters enjoy it as well. I leave out the black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Eaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this recipe just like it says, but I added chopped fresh mushrooms. After it was done I topped it with a spoonful of sour cream and some cheddar cheese. Mmmmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I'm not a big fan of chili and this was the best I've tried. I make different recipes for Vegetarian chili often. I loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! Sometimes a brown some ground beef or turkey and add that in. It's great either way. Also, Progresso stopped making the black bean soup. The only other one I could find was Goya. That works just as well. Definitely recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Nothing great. I would not make it again. I am a vegetarian, but my family is not. But I didn't like it. Tried adding hot peppers to add flavor. Served with mexican cheese and corn tortillas. More of a soup than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I decided to give this recipe 4 stars, mostly because it was a great jumping off point for an amazing chili. I made a significant amount of changes thanks to previous reviewers (you guys rock) and my own past chili experiences. I added 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes with zesty chiles and a poblano pepper to increase the kick. I left out the basil, oregano, and parsley. I tripled the chili powder (3 Tbsp chili powder), then added 1 Tbsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp cocoa powder. I also added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke. When I mixed everything up, I wasn't convinced there was enough liquid so I wound up adding 1 cup of water with 1 bullion cube. Learning experience: that was way too much liquid. I put it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on low, 2 hours on high plus an extra 30 minutes of cooking on high with the lid off thanks to my fears about the lack of liquid (oops). Next time I'd probably stick to 1/2 cup broth (though it might not need any at all). My boyfriend had three servings, even venturing to say it was the best chili he's ever had! He didn't even miss the meat! A meal that makes both the vegetarian and meat-eater happy? This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and kids really loves this recipe! I use other veges such as zucchini...I think whatever you want to throw in will taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States