Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a total bomb! No one would eat it, I tasted it and I couldn't eat it either, too bland and the tastes did not go together. I won't make it again. My son-in-law who eats any and everything wouldn't even eat it. I'm sorry but this just doesn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious!! AND you can get creative by amending to your own taste...although I pretty much followed the original recipe. This freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Good base of ingredients, but needs some extra kick. I skipped the basil and oregano, and used cayenne, cumin, chili powder, and paprika with some Valentina's very hot sauce. Plus, added a small can of tomato paste, stewed tomatoes, and diced tomatoes with chilis. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Enjoyed it, but would probably cook it another half hour or so next time. Also might add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my vegan sister when she came for a visit. I used a can of black beans instead of the black bean soup. Added a can of Rotel Tomatoes with Chiles and a can of tomato paste. I tasted this a few times to adjust the spices. It was VERYYYYYY bland as written. I added more chili powder, Old Bay Seasoning and more salt and pepper. My sister enjoyed it and I sent the leftovers home with her. Will make again for vegan or vegetarian family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
It was way too sweet for me. If i EVER made this again (unlikely), I would leave the vegetarian baked beans out. My suggestion would be to try it without the baked beans. You can always add them if you don't like the flavor without them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Easy and delicious! Next time I'll try, as at least one reviewer suggested, to just dump in the bean liquids with the beans. I used 2 Tbsp chili powder and 4 cans of diced tomatoes. (For those skeptical about oregano in chili, oregano is one of the ingredients in chili powder.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked it. Doubt I'd make it again though. This recipe made me realize I don't care for a sweet chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I make this recipe about once a month. I love it and everyone else in my house does too. I make the chili vegetarian, but then I brown ground turkey and ground beef so that people who want meat can add meat to their chili. Great for after skiing or a long day. Instead of using regular tomatoes I use Rotel tomatoes and for a little extra kick I use a small can of Hatch chilies, but the recipe is awesome as written. I serve it with low fat shour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
A really good hearty soup, or maybe even stew, but please don't call it chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States