Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! The only tweak I made was doubling the garlic. Everyone I have made this for absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is my GO-TO veggie chili recipe! I'd made it more times than i can count. Absolutely love it. Crazy easy to make. Can go as far as throwing it all in the crock (& fridge) before bed and then putting it on the slow cooker in the morning. I've normally slow cooked mine for 8 hours on low, but have cooked it on high for 2 hours as well. I've tried on the stovetop too. All were superb. My only alteration: I've never used the black bean soup. Instead i've replaced it with 1 can of black beans (rinsed) and 12-16 ounces of bouillon stock. Oh, and it freezes really well! I usually make a huge vat of it, divvy it up into serving and freeze 80% of it for future lunches or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this for an orchestrated church potluck for which we were told to bring our favorite toppings for potatoes. It filled my 7-qt crockpot. I made the recipe as written at home and started cooking it at church before service--about 2.5 hours before lunch time. I was at the end of the serving line--and the chili was gone! Several people complimented it an asked for the recipe, which is my reason for 5 stars. In making it for my household, I will definitely add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a total bomb! No one would eat it, I tasted it and I couldn't eat it either, too bland and the tastes did not go together. I won't make it again. My son-in-law who eats any and everything wouldn't even eat it. I'm sorry but this just doesn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious!! AND you can get creative by amending to your own taste...although I pretty much followed the original recipe. This freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Good base of ingredients, but needs some extra kick. I skipped the basil and oregano, and used cayenne, cumin, chili powder, and paprika with some Valentina's very hot sauce. Plus, added a small can of tomato paste, stewed tomatoes, and diced tomatoes with chilis. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Enjoyed it, but would probably cook it another half hour or so next time. Also might add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my vegan sister when she came for a visit. I used a can of black beans instead of the black bean soup. Added a can of Rotel Tomatoes with Chiles and a can of tomato paste. I tasted this a few times to adjust the spices. It was VERYYYYYY bland as written. I added more chili powder, Old Bay Seasoning and more salt and pepper. My sister enjoyed it and I sent the leftovers home with her. Will make again for vegan or vegetarian family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
It was way too sweet for me. If i EVER made this again (unlikely), I would leave the vegetarian baked beans out. My suggestion would be to try it without the baked beans. You can always add them if you don't like the flavor without them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Easy and delicious! Next time I'll try, as at least one reviewer suggested, to just dump in the bean liquids with the beans. I used 2 Tbsp chili powder and 4 cans of diced tomatoes. (For those skeptical about oregano in chili, oregano is one of the ingredients in chili powder.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States