Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is my first time making sloppy joes since no one in my family is a big fan. I added everything except the cloves since other reviewers seemed turned off by them and I only had whole cloves that required grinding up. However it tasted incomplete, and as a test I added in the cloves. Seriously, it sparked the concoction right up. They add something and should not be omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I have made many recipes from this site, but until now I have never rated nor reviewed one. I felt I just had to rate and review Grandma's Sloppy Joes because of the mixed feelings of other reviewers regarding the sweetness of the recipe. I followed the recipe closely, substituting red bell pepper for green and adding only a 1/4 teaspoon of cloves instead of 1/2. I found the recipe to be delicious, not overly sweet (these are Sloppy Joes after all) and the 1/4 teaspoon of cloves to be just the right amount. I do agree that 1/2 teaspoon would be overpowering (but we all have our own likes and dislikes). Overall, a great recipe and a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Sorry, we didn't enjoy this at all. I made it exactly as stated, but used a sprinkling of cloves, I can't imagine using more than that. It was very ketchupy and sweet. Very thick so I tried to thin down with a bit of water. It just tasted like eating hamburg with ketchup. I'll stick to my mom in laws recipe: 1 pound hamburg browned and drained, one large can tomato puree, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, salt and pepper to taste, garlic salt, 2 tablespoons prepared mustard and 1/2 package of taco seasoning or chili powder. It's really good. Sorry about the review, I hate giving low scores and everyones tastes are different but maybe I can help someone whos tastes are similar to mine and prevent wasting money on something they may not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was a very rich and delicious sloppy joe recipe. I used half bbq sauce and half ketchup like some other reviewers. I also put a slice of monterey jack cheese on the sandwich and it was great! I was scared off of the cloves by some of the reviews I read, so I only used 1/3 the amount of cloves. But I really loved the smell and flavor the cloves imparted, so next time I will try the full amount. One more thing - I found it a little salty, but this may be because I scaled the recipe to 6 servings. I don't think you need extra salt if you increase the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
my mother in law's recipe is similar to this one.. it is wonderful.. one suggestion.. use ground all spice instead of cloves..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mase Conn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Yum! I was looking for a quick recipe at the last minute and this came through with flying colors. Love it and best of all my husband said the sandwich was delish! So much better than from a can. And I was a little leery of the ground cloves, but I agree that it enhances the taste. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe was good- classic sloppy joes. I was afraid to add a half tsp of cloves so only added 1/4- but didn't need to worry as the cloves couldn't be tasted at all. Will add the whole amount next time! Everybody in the family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
While I liked ths recipe, I thought there was too much clove. I only put in a 1/4 tsp. like other readers did, but next time I'll put in an 1/8. I also added some petite diced tomatoes, with the juice drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was really good, although I omitted the peppers. Perfect if you're looking for something out of the ordinary, fast, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This was good, somewhat dry, so I added more ketchup & some water, put it in the crockpot and a few hours later...Done. Easy as can be! Thanks Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States