Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We don't care much for tomato based sloppy joes so this recipe has become a favorite of ours now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Love this recipe.. I'm not a big sloppy joe fan, but this is perfect. The kids love it, and so does my hubby...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolamares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is an excellent sloppy joe recipe. I made one change to the recipe that might sound a bit strange. It looked a little on the dry side so I added a couple of splashes of beer and it was AMAZING ! I otherwise made the recipe as was indicated. Thank you for my "go to" sloppy joe recipe for all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was really yummy, I did add only the 1/4 tsp of cloves but did not actually taste them. I used very lean ground beef and found this to be a quick different recipe to serve the guys in my house. Added chips and raw veggies to the plate and they really went for it! Thanks to grandma, and to you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
we just LOVED it!!! kids went nuts cause there weren't any veggies and my hubby went nuts cause there was just SO much flavor! i used ground turkey which can tend to leave recipes seem as if they're lacking, but with cider vinager, dijon mustard, and the cloves... OUTSTANDING! it really was good enough for me to set up an account so i could review it! either you like cloves or you don't... for us, this was HANDS DOWN... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
It's simmering on the stove right now and I wish I had read the reviews first. All I can smell are cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cestcheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very tasty! I added a jalapeno pepper and a few cloves of garlic. Will definitely make again! I tasted it just after mixing the ingredients and thought the cloves were way too much, but after simmering it came together really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
very good,little sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe is ridiculous. I doubled the recipe, used ground turkey, for 1/3 of the ketchup I substituted bbq sause, and half the amount of cloves. People were literally licking their plates. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
The ground cloves is what sets this recipe apart. I use cloves (ground and whole) in a lot of my receipes and it you do not add too much, everyone will be asking what it is. Adds just a hint of something that is not identifiable if you do not add too much, that is the secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States