Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was excited to make this recipe after reading a few reviews and seeing that it got such a high rating. But I was really disappointed in the finished product. The cloves were WAY overpowering. If I make this recipe again, I'll skip the cloves all together, but even then I don't think the flavor will be what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
WOW, at first I was not sure if I should add it to my recipe box, but one taste convinced me. The cloves definitely set it off; I did not measure exactly, just to taste and also added paprika, and chopped jalapeños, since we like it hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The addition of the cloves makes this unique and unforgetable. I will always add cloves to my sloppy joes now. Great and unique addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Didn't like the cloves.. had to add things to help with the taste. Next time I will omit cloves, add garlic powder, dash of chili powder and go from there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent sloppy joe recipe!!! I have made these a few times now, but I feel even more compelled to rate this after last night's meal. I made these last night for dinner but realized I didn't have enough ketchup. I found "in-a-pinch ketchup" recipe on AR website and made that in place of the normal Heinz ketchup. Wow - the sloppy joes were delicious, and I will use that as my ketchup from now on when making these "gourmet" sloppy joes. I did add 2 cloves of garlic (for 2 lbs of beef). We had leftover sloppy joes, so I made sloppy joe paninis for lunch today. I caramelized onions and used pepper jack cheese - excellent flavor combo and turns ordinary sloppy joes into gourmet sloppy joes. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This recipe was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderchick1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
DO NOT OMIT THE CLOVES!!!! Adds soo much flavor! Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SecretFatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This recipe is so easy and very, very good! I omitted the cloves and reduced the brown sugar to 1.5 teaspoons and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States