Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
With a little adjusting for taste (removing the bell pepper, cloves and salt) This tastes great! Who would have thought it would be that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The cloves are overpowering and I wouldn't make it again. I'm sorry! But nobody would eat it and I have a house full of boys. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this was nicely different. I agree too much clove but thats a simple fix, just use 1/4 instead. From Dad who kinda likes sloppy Joes to the 7 yr. old princess they all gave it a thumbs up. Princess says it needs cheese and she was right, we used medium cheddar and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We love this recipe in my house! I also used cinnamon instead of cloves, and we prefer tomato sauce to the sweetness of ketchup. If I have it I'll use spicy brown mustard instead of 'classic' yellow mustard. We usually have these with sweet potato fries on the side- so much better than anything you can get from the drive-thru! Thanks for sharing your grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these for a Holiday Pot Luck at work this week. They were such a hit that there was none left. They were very good, but a little too much tang. I would cut back on the mustard used. If you want to be a hit with a Pot Luck this is the recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good recipe, not to too sweet but has the perfect blend of sugars and spice. my kids loved it and it was quick to make,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
We just had these for supper!! This recipe is AMAZING!! I doubled it, and only put in as much cloves as I knew my family would enjoy. That is what is nice about this recipe, you can modify it to your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTALEE5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is one of the best sloppy joes we have ever had. For us this recipes comes from the 4-H restaurant from our fair. We like it with a little more chili powder and with shredded sharp cheddar melted on top. This is an A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
this is a seriously tasty recipe. the only changes i make are that i've upped it to a pound and a half of ground beef (one pound is just not enough for my family of four - i guess they're pigs!) but also i substitute a small tin of both tomato paste and sauce for the ketchup. i just can't put a cup of ketchup in anything! but because of that, i upped both the brown sugar and vinegar to 3 Tbsp each. definitely put in the cloves, they're key, but maybe only use 1/4 tsp if you think the half is too much. i also leave out the green pepper but that's just cos i think green pepper is gross. if you like it, of course leave it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ask4janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was excited to make this recipe after reading a few reviews and seeing that it got such a high rating. But I was really disappointed in the finished product. The cloves were WAY overpowering. If I make this recipe again, I'll skip the cloves all together, but even then I don't think the flavor will be what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States