Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good recipe, not to too sweet but has the perfect blend of sugars and spice. my kids loved it and it was quick to make,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
We just had these for supper!! This recipe is AMAZING!! I doubled it, and only put in as much cloves as I knew my family would enjoy. That is what is nice about this recipe, you can modify it to your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTALEE5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is one of the best sloppy joes we have ever had. For us this recipes comes from the 4-H restaurant from our fair. We like it with a little more chili powder and with shredded sharp cheddar melted on top. This is an A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
this is a seriously tasty recipe. the only changes i make are that i've upped it to a pound and a half of ground beef (one pound is just not enough for my family of four - i guess they're pigs!) but also i substitute a small tin of both tomato paste and sauce for the ketchup. i just can't put a cup of ketchup in anything! but because of that, i upped both the brown sugar and vinegar to 3 Tbsp each. definitely put in the cloves, they're key, but maybe only use 1/4 tsp if you think the half is too much. i also leave out the green pepper but that's just cos i think green pepper is gross. if you like it, of course leave it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ask4janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was excited to make this recipe after reading a few reviews and seeing that it got such a high rating. But I was really disappointed in the finished product. The cloves were WAY overpowering. If I make this recipe again, I'll skip the cloves all together, but even then I don't think the flavor will be what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
WOW, at first I was not sure if I should add it to my recipe box, but one taste convinced me. The cloves definitely set it off; I did not measure exactly, just to taste and also added paprika, and chopped jalapeños, since we like it hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The addition of the cloves makes this unique and unforgetable. I will always add cloves to my sloppy joes now. Great and unique addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Didn't like the cloves.. had to add things to help with the taste. Next time I will omit cloves, add garlic powder, dash of chili powder and go from there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent sloppy joe recipe!!! I have made these a few times now, but I feel even more compelled to rate this after last night's meal. I made these last night for dinner but realized I didn't have enough ketchup. I found "in-a-pinch ketchup" recipe on AR website and made that in place of the normal Heinz ketchup. Wow - the sloppy joes were delicious, and I will use that as my ketchup from now on when making these "gourmet" sloppy joes. I did add 2 cloves of garlic (for 2 lbs of beef). We had leftover sloppy joes, so I made sloppy joe paninis for lunch today. I caramelized onions and used pepper jack cheese - excellent flavor combo and turns ordinary sloppy joes into gourmet sloppy joes. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This recipe was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States