Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great flavor without being too sloppy! Only change I made to the recipe from reading other reviews was to decrease spices to 1/4 t. ground cloves and 1/2 t. salt. So easy and works well in a soft roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this with ground turkey, I loved how it easy it was. I added garlic because I was short on onion, and left out the cloves since I have none. I also went easy on the green pepper as my husband doesn't love them. I think the small amount I used was perfect. I hadn't had sloppy joes in about 30 years, but heard a report that my 2-year old liked them. Unfortunately he's fickle and didn't touch it, but my husband and I thought it was pretty good. I might try all spice and maybe leave out the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I thought this was very good. I added a little chili powder to it which really moved it up a notch in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Pretty good. I like it because its not as sweet as some of the others.. I just used a sprinkle of cloves and doubled the vinegar ratio to the brown sugar. Good flavor. Very easy with stuff you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I normally just open a can of Manwich when I make sloppy joes. When I went to grab a can for tonight's dinner, I didn't have one so I tried this one....it's pretty yummy. I had to make it without the green pepper because I didn't have one but it was still good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I prepared exactly as written and my kids and husband loved it! This one is a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Terrific and easy. Added some worcheshire sauce, cajun seasoning and garlic powder. Liked the little somethin' extra from the cloves, which I always put in my cabbage roll and porcupine meatball tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My 2nd attempt at making sloppy joes, and this recipe is a winner! yuuum! I never measure my ingredients, and doubt I put in a whole cup of ketchup. I added a small can of tomato paste and squirt some ketchup over the top. Cloves do this recipe wonders!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Closest recipe I could find to my own mother's recipe, we just add some celery to the mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veyster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I leave out the clove. It overpowers everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States