Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Left out the cloves and these were perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I never had sloppy Joes before... Everybody was talking about it and once my hubby mentioned that he really misses it (he has been living in Europe for over 8 years now) i thought i would just give it a try. I gotta be honest i was skeptical at first. Specially after reading about gloves and brown sugar mixes with meat??? lol well on the end I'm the one that wants this at least once a week. I love everything about this recipe, but i put in more green peppers since my kids love them so much... Awesome recipe and i wouldn't wanna miss the gloves in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carry991

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were really good! The whole family loved them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I was always a fan of sloppy joes, but my husband wasn't. This recipe converted him, and now this is a favorite on our table! He loves the cloves, and thinks that it is the special kick for him. I added Flax Seed Meal and Brewer's Yeast to help my lactation (I am breast feeding) and it was unnoticeable, great way to blend in extra needed nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family did not like this, I believe it was the cloves that they didn't like the smell or taste of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made this twice now. LOVE IT ! Dont leave out the cloves, i just sprinkled to taste and the cloves is what gives it that special something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is excellent and a great change from regular sloppy joes. Do NOT omit the cloves! They really make the dish! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I always use a can of tomato soup in my sloppy joe recipe. It adds sweetness and is not 'ketchupy' then. I did make it (minus cloves), but subsituted the soup for the full cup of ketchup and added only about 2 tbsp of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great flavor without being too sloppy! Only change I made to the recipe from reading other reviews was to decrease spices to 1/4 t. ground cloves and 1/2 t. salt. So easy and works well in a soft roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this with ground turkey, I loved how it easy it was. I added garlic because I was short on onion, and left out the cloves since I have none. I also went easy on the green pepper as my husband doesn't love them. I think the small amount I used was perfect. I hadn't had sloppy joes in about 30 years, but heard a report that my 2-year old liked them. Unfortunately he's fickle and didn't touch it, but my husband and I thought it was pretty good. I might try all spice and maybe leave out the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States