Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
After I browned the hamb, onion and pepper, I threw it all in a crockpot with the remaining ingredients. I didn't have any cloves,so omitted it. I missed that part of not having to add more vinegar if doubling it. I actually tripled the recipe and tripled the vinegar. I still wanted it a bit more tang to it and added yet another tbls. of mustard. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needlewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Loved this classic recipe a lot. It has a good, thick consistency and a wonderful tangy flavor. If you're not a fan of clove, I would suggest omitting it altogether. I personally feel that it is what makes this recipe sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Saunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Followed the recipe completely and it was very tasty, quite fragrant and had a wonderful texture. Everybody loved them. I was a little leery about the cloves but added it as described and had no regrets. This recipe is a new staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runner736
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Thank you Grandma! Very yummy and so very quick! Only minor adjustments from me. Only 1/2 c Ketchup & also add 1 can 10oz Tomato Puree (not tomato sauce). Just a 'dash' of cloves, salt & pepper to taste, and 2 cloves Garlic while sauteing the meat. I've used both ground Turkey and beef and they both work out great! I use Balsamic for the vinegar. I dash my burger with hot sauce to give mine an extra zip of spice! You need to try these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is my favorite sloppy joe recipe if I leave out the cloves. Flavor's too strong, even if I cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is so good!Will be making it again for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the only sloppy joe recipe I use. My whole family loves it. The cloves are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevalgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jagwood4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for except the amount of cloves. I made it a second time and put only a sprinkle of cloves and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States