Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was amazing - tasty and easy - I'll never go for the canned stuff again. The clove gave it a great flavor and it smelled awesome! The only changes I made were to use apple cider vinegar and some hot pepper mustard rather than regular. AAA+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I was all in the mood for sloppy joes tonight. When I came home I realized that I had left a bag of groceries in my wife's car that had the packet of sloppy joe mix and the tomato paste I normally use in it. So I did a quick search on the internet and found this recipe. I choose this recipe because I had the ingredients on hand, or close enough. I was out of ketchup, so I had to improvise with a can of stewed tomatoes, of which I blended into a liquid. I also only put 1/4 teaspoon of clove in, as I was intrigued but not entirely sold on this. I also like to used ground pork instead of beef for my sloppy joes. I have to say... WOW! I don't think I will ever buy prepackaged sloppy joe mix again. It's so simple and yet so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Way too much clove! Did not care for this one@! It became a pizza night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Recipe was really good, but I used the amount of cloves in the recipe and it was a little too much. I'll cut back next time, but this is definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
much too sweet for my liking. Working on this and will get back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very Good, my husband loved it. And it was so easy. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Well it was a good outline, I added a few things and changed it up a bit. Instead of the pepper I put in 1/2 cup of chopped up Celery, a can of pork and beans, Tbsp Chili Powder, instead of Ketchup we used Tomatoe paste, I really liked the cloves in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Thanks for this! My husband is a big fan of sloppy joes and this was perfect for the both of us. The cloves really did something great for this. I didn't change a thing and don't think I ever will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosewolf

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alto, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Really delicious. I added a clove of garlic and ommited the cloves, simply because I didn't have any. Next time I will add the cloves and maybe some red pepper flakes for some heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I liked this recipe but I would add the ground cloves to taste because it is a powerful yet great flavor but if you add what the recipe calls for you may not like it. I added more brown sugar to mine to make it sweeter! But all in all I love these sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalleyTheGreat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States