Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was my first pie crust ever so I was a little apprehensive, but it was SO easy and really flaky and tasty. Even my expert-baker mother-in-law highly approved. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a great pie crust recipe. I ended up using butter flavored Crisco, which definitely added a nice buttery flavor to it. I also reduced the vinegar to 2 tsps and then added 1 tsp. of vanilla. The most important thing, when you make this crust, is to try and sift the flour first to avoid having to add more liquid (water) later on. Otherwise, the flour will get too dense and the dough will be hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The pastry came out nice and flaky. I prefer to add the liquid a little at a time so I mixed in the egg and vinegar before adding the water. I thought it had enough liquid and didn't add any water, I should have as it didn't roll out very well. I will make it again because I liked the texture and flavor. This is also the same recipe as No Fail pie crust I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I have many recipes in my folder, but this is the only pie crust I use. For me a pie crust is just something to keep the pie together but to my wife the pie crust is essential. I use this pie crust with every pie I make, Lemon Meringue, Sweet Potato, Pumpkin, and Grandma Ople's Apple Pie recipe. I change nothing in the recipe, except that I may adjust the flour or liquid to get it to where it's workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaBigCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is the first time I made my own pie crust and it turned out perfect. Thanks Grandma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
The only pie crust recipe I use. I have used it for pumpkin, apple, and cherry pies. And I have used for my chicken pot pie crust too. I use my food processor and it always turns out wonderful. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
It was OK. Not spectacular, but still good. I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Very delicious, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was a very good recipe. I used it for several quiche's I was making, and liked the recipe because it wasn't too sweet and complemented the quiche very well. I substituted butter for the shortening, and chilled the dough for about 30 minutes before using it. As suggested in a previous review, I added about 1/2 a tsp of baking powder (although I'm not sure it really did much) and I also added about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. Instead of rolling it out, I pressed it directly into my pie pans (I had enough for about 2 and a half) and baked it for 12 minutes, added my quiche ingredients, and baked for 30 minutes longer. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I use lard (1 cup only) and make sure it is well chilled before using....I use my food processor and it comes together in a perfect ball which I can use right away....the trick to this crust is you want it chilled (not cold) but room temp. dough will give you fits. I get 3 crusts out of this recipe and it freezes beautifully for later use. This one is truly a "no brainer"...thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States