Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
SUPER EASY and turns out great. This is my go to pie crust recipe. I've forgotten to pre-bake and it still turned out well. It's bland, but flakey and good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I am not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't come out very good at all! I followed it exactly as written, except that I substituted half of the shortening with butter. I also needed to add one extra tablespoon of water to get the dough to come together. I was making it for a chicken pot pie, so I stuck the dough in the fridge while I cooked up the rest of the ingredients. There was no problem rolling out the dough. It looked really pretty and for a moment I had high hopes for it. But when it came out of the oven, the bottom crust was all soggy and doughy. The top crust was nice and crisp, though I have to say that the flavor was completely unremarkable. I was hoping for something buttery and flaky. Instead it tasted like baked homemade play dough. I was so disappointed after all that work to make a chicken pot pie from scratch! At dinner time everyone ended up picking around the crust and only eating the chicken and vegetables. Even my dog wouldn't eat the crust, so it all ended up in the trash bin. I'm sorry but I definitely will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Almost exactly the same recipe as my Grandmother passed down. Easy to work with, great taste and extremely flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While I do love lard or butter in pie crusts, I used none of either. After all, I chose a shortening pie crust recipe and thought it only fair to the recipe and its submitter to prepare it as written. And it was perfect. This crust is SO tender and flaky! Heck, it flakes as you CUT it it's so flaky! Simply a beautiful crust and if basic pie crust techniques are followed you will have no problems. This will be one of those rare pie crusts where none is left behind on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe produced the best, flakiest pie crust I have ever made, and I've made a lot of pie crusts! I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like shortening. The butter was hard cold (nearly frozen) and I only cut it in until the size of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is the best pie crust, and really easy to make. I also added some cinnamon & sugar to the flour mix, to add a bit of sweetness! Yum! I always make this with Grandma's Apple Pie you can also find on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Wow! This recipe is excellent. The texture was great to work with and although I wasn't really sure what to make of the vinegar I'm glad that I didn't chicken out because otherwise I would have missed out on this great discovery. It was flaky and delicious. Thank you Felicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This crust recipe is the best I have ever made. It was flawless. Super easy to make, perfect consistency. Tastes amazing. I didn't alter the recipe at all and had no problems!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was my first pie crust, and hallelujah, I'm so glad I did some researching. This recipe rocked and turned out perfectly. (Well, the first time didnt, because I didnt have the wisdom to know how much water was enough... and added too little, making a sand crust, LOL) I tried it in the food processor and couldnt get it to work right, so I actually had better luck with the pastry blender... had no trouble at all rolling it out, and made a beautiful lattice with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Really good texture. For dessert pie try less salt and a little sugar. Perfect as is for a pot pie crust or quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States