Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This crust recipe is the best I have ever made. It was flawless. Super easy to make, perfect consistency. Tastes amazing. I didn't alter the recipe at all and had no problems!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was my first pie crust, and hallelujah, I'm so glad I did some researching. This recipe rocked and turned out perfectly. (Well, the first time didnt, because I didnt have the wisdom to know how much water was enough... and added too little, making a sand crust, LOL) I tried it in the food processor and couldnt get it to work right, so I actually had better luck with the pastry blender... had no trouble at all rolling it out, and made a beautiful lattice with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Really good texture. For dessert pie try less salt and a little sugar. Perfect as is for a pot pie crust or quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I would give this a five out of five, but the crust was incredibly crumbly and hard to work with. However, I just added some more water and flour until it got to the right consistency. The crust turned out beautifully after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe is just like the one my grandma used. It's nice and flaky, and tastes great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This pie crust is soo good it's the only one I use with nearly all my pie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I confess... For years I have bought the frozed pie crusts at the stores because of a few fail attempts. If it had a top crust, I didn't make it. And I love to bake and love a challenge, so why I did this for so long I cannot say. So I used this wonderful site and all of your tips, and with this recipe I made an amazing crust. Could not have turned out better. Here are the tips I followed: 1. Chill the bowl and the fat. 2. Do not "over-cut" the fat into the flour mix. You want some lumps-they make it flakey. 3.Chill the dough again while you make your filling. 4. MOST HELPFUL FOR ME: Roll the dough out ONCE and do so in between two sheets of wax paper. Remove one sheet and line up on pie plate, push into place and remove second sheet. Do not be afraid of pie crust like I was for way too long. These tips really ease the process and give wonderful results. No more tough dough stuck to the counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Fool-proof! Every time I make this crust it turns out light and flaky. Even when I'm too lazy to roll it out and just pat into the pan instead! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I love this recipe! I just added enough of the liquid to make it hold together and 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortning made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very Tasty and Flaky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States