Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
What an awesome pie crust. I always use pie crust to make the shell because I have to - I never eat the crust. I tried this one and now I know when I make this recipe I won't have to appear finicky every again. It was easy to make, easy to roll out and easy to eat! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
My mom first used this as a bride in 1940. I have used it since 1968. Now my kids and grands use it also. Fool proof and if you mess up just roll it over again. It comes out light and flakey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was complete fail for me. I followed it to the "T". As soon as I started to roll it, it fell apart, cracked. Definitely will not use this recipe again. I'll go back to my NO FAIL recipe that I got from my husband's grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I can make this in my sleep! I worked selling homemade pies at a market for 4 summers and this was my secret weapon. 864 pies in a span of 6 months sold can't be wrong! It has been a little kitchen temperature sensitive so if it doesn't turn out right the first time, give it another go in a warmer kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
PERFECT crust! I folled the recipe exactly and it came out great..my dad is picky about his crusts and he loved this one! Not only is it nice and flaky but has a great flavor. I will definitely be using this recipe for any crusts from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great crust! I followed the recipe exactly. Easy to make and it turned out perfectly. I made this for the Sour Cream Chicken Quiche from this site and it was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is the first crust I ever made, and I must say it turned out delicious! I was very intimidated about making my own crust - but this wasn't hard to make at all. The only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought this crust was fantastic....really easy to make! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is similar to my grandmothers recipe....very good and very flaky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaguarpurrr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bay City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I've been using this recipe for over 25 years, yields a flaky light crust. To sweeten just a bit I add 2 tsps sugar except if I'm making a meat pie, then I use it as is. Absolutely the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States