Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I think next time I will try adding a sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
perfect as written, I do chill the dough sometimes for 24 hrs,Very tasty crust.Follow directions and you won't be dissapointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This crust is delicious! It is super flaky, though. If you're going for flaky, this is your crust! It doesn't hold together so well when serving because of the flakiness, so if you're going for that picture-perfect slice, this might not be the recipe for you. Excellent texture when eating, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I went into this with such high hopes. It didn't work though I followed directions to the letter. I chilled bowls and dough. It wasn't too humid. It was floury tasting and fell apart even with the addition of more liquids. Oh well, the grocery store version isn't horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great crust, easy and simple. The flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This crust is hearty and thick. The best ever.. I made the crust and chilled it for an hour as suggested. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I finally got a pie crust that "worked" and also tasted good. After chilling for 30 min this rolled out nicely and didn't stick to the counter (light flour dusting). I made half the recipe and ended up with a 9" crust and a 5" tart shell. It wasn't as flaky as I would have liked but I used butter so that may be why and it was humid so I think that lent to it being a little softer when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is simple and does make a flakey crust but it tastes awful!! All you taste is flour. I thought with Cherry filling it would be all right but it wasn't.. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Good crust but hard to roll out, a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfect! I used all butter instead of shortening, chilled, and cut into the flour mixture. I also added 2 tsp. of sugar to the dough mixture for a little sweetness. I slowly added ice cold water, a little at a time, mixed into the dough until it came together nicely. The chilling of the dough really helped! After I chilled the dough, about an hour, I rolled it between two pieces of wax paper with no problems. The dough was soft and real easy to roll out-even for a beginner like myself. The results were a wonderfully-flaky and tender crust. The crust baked up nicely and formed a pretty light golden color. The crust tastes light and just absolutely delicious! It was simply a beautiful crust and I was impressed with myself. This will be one of those pie crust recipes I don’t want to lose! I used this crust for, “Perfect Pumpkin Pie,” also from this website. A perfect pie crust that I plan on using again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States